Help Support Ford Raptor Forum by donating:


GEN 2 Throttle Response Issue - Power Cutting Out

Discussion in 'Ford Raptor Maintenance Forum' started by Scott Holcomb, Dec 16, 2019.

Car Parts
  1. New recaros

    New recaros Member

    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    May 23, 2019
    Location:
    Colorado
    Turn the traction control off.
     
  2. Scott Holcomb

    Scott Holcomb Member

    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2019
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    It’s not the traction control. I can tell when I lose minor power due to the wheels slipping.

    This is solid traction with constant acceleration.
     
  3. Scott Holcomb

    Scott Holcomb Member

    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2019
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    I am tempted to think it might be oil related.

    Scheduled to drive from Dallas to Austin tomorrow and of course the truck throws P0365 and the CEL came on. Probably going to have to take the wife’s truck now.

    I checked the oil level and am confused. It’s on level ground but only half of the dip stick is showing oil going from the bottom to the indicator lines. Almost like the truck wasn’t level.

    Going to schedule the truck to get looked at next week. I think they are going to have to replace the back window as well due to the defroster having several lines not coming on. Hopefully they can figure out the front collision sensor killing the adaptive cruise as well.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2019
  4. Keynote

    Keynote Member

    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2019
    Location:
    Arizona
    i have the same issue. Greatly described and written. I feel that a firmware update would probably fix it if Ford actually did one.
     
  5. Scott Holcomb

    Scott Holcomb Member

    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2019
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    So as a resolution to my issue, it was an oil issue.

    One thing to be aware of is to wait 15 minutes to check the oil to let it all drain back into the pan. I was checking mine too quickly and it was not reading correctly which didn't help my diagnosis.

    They checked and it was low, so they followed the TSB about it and changed the valve covers along with the other items it needed.

    What I think was happening was it was getting poor oil pressure and was killing the throttle but not enough to throw a CEL. When it finally got low enough, it threw the CEL and showed it needed the service.

    I got the truck back and it drives like new, I was a bit surprised at how much power I had following the service.
     
    Kuan likes this.
  6. FordTechOne

    FordTechOne Full Access Member

    Posts:
    858
    Likes Received:
    792
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2019
    Location:
    Detroit
    Guys....

    I have experienced the same thing in my 2019. The issue is all software; nothing that can be fixed by a dealer. For those well versed in late model F-150s, one of the many drive modes typically offered is "Eco" mode. The Raptor doesn't have that mode selection, and based on my experience with a non-HO 3.5 (XLT) and a 3.0 Lion Diesel Lariat, the Raptor is ALWAYS in Eco mode unless you designate it otherwise. I surmise that this is to improve fuel economy, which is understandable, but it also makes the powertrain much less responsive. My only suggestion is to set your drive mode before you depart, which will ensure that the powertrain will be at the ready.
     
  7. smurfslayer

    smurfslayer Be vewwy, vewwy quiet. We’re hunting sasquatch77

    Posts:
    6,949
    Likes Received:
    4,849
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    I feel somewhat vindicated!

    I detest normal mode in the Raptor, and all that it represents. Give me Sport mode as a default drive mode already!

    Not long after I first bought the truck I was on the interstate and wanting to pass some plodding minivan and so I did what I did in previous cars/trucks - I fed what I thought was plenty of throttle, but I didn’t floor it. Yeah... apparently Ford Engineering felt like 3/4 throttle at 50 mph meant, just feed in some boost and stay in 10th gear. Raptor is only my 2nd throttle by wire vehicle and the other is a ZX10r. “Eco” is not really a concern for the Kawasaki engineers for the 10r. Brace (or you’ll fall off), twist grip and be ready to shift fast.

    I’ve called ‘normal’ mode dangerous and I stand by that description. It’s lazy, unresponsive unless you’re flooring it. I understand, Ford wants to be able to sell the Raptor in all markets, even the disaffected, hipster-wannabe, millennial crowd who chafe at the prospect of manual labor and so they have to dumb down throttle for the peasantry.

    I realize the suggestion may go against some of the negative posts and possibly your position, but I was tuned on to the pedal commander by a fellow Jenny owner and it makes ‘normal’ mode a much more linear throttle.
     
    FordTechOne likes this.
  8. tom wansor

    tom wansor Full Access Member

    Posts:
    226
    Likes Received:
    100
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2019
    Location:
    new york
    Is this something Forscan can fix?
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2020
  9. WraptorBoy

    WraptorBoy 2019 Sep/Oct build

    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Location:
    US
    As a test I started off in sport mode a few times and experienced the same phenomenon. I also started off in manual and low and behold, the issue occurred (I shifted to the next gear and the hesitation occurred).

    I plan to go in for the recent battery terminal recall and will tell them about it. According to Ford's site there are no TSBs or updates for my truck execpt for the recall.

    I'll post if they do an update and it solves the issue.
     
  10. FordTechOne

    FordTechOne Full Access Member

    Posts:
    858
    Likes Received:
    792
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2019
    Location:
    Detroit
    Is it only when cold as you had mentioned in your previous post, or is it able to be duplicated all the time? I've never ran mine hard before it was warmed up.
     

Share This Page