CNG addition/conversion?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

scosol

Reaction score
Has anyone looked in to this?
I ask because I'm more of an exploratory off-roader versus desert-jumping or rock-crawling, and a 2012 Raptor with the Torsen front diff will work fine for my needs. I'm deciding between an F250 and the Raptor for the same $$$. (Both with the 6.2). The Raptor is obviously the much better-looking truck and my hauling/towing needs are moderate so it would work perfectly.

In the F250 I'd like the diesel but it's a $7k premium, and the 6.2 has a CNG-prep option that just includes some hardened valves etc. I've got some experience with CNG and with diesel being the same price as premium unleaded; with CNG being ~half, I'm leaning towards the 6.2 with a ~$5k CNG system added to it.

The Raptor has the same motor with some different ECU tunings so I'm fairly sure I can get that worked out, but wanted to ask if anyone had looked in to this at all.
Or maybe I'll be the first to do it :)

Last edited:

KaiserM715

Kaiser Söze
Reaction score
The Raptor has the same motor with some different ECU tunings so I'm fairly sure I can get that worked out, but wanted to ask if anyone had looked in to this at all.
Or maybe I'll be the first to do it :)
The cams are also different. I have not heard of any CNG conversions to date, so you might be first!

OP
OP
S

scosol

Reaction score
The cams are also different. I have not heard of any CNG conversions to date, so you might be first!

Hmm I did not know the cams were different, but that as well shouldn't matter. Any gas engine not at the absolute limits of stress can run on CNG without a problem.

I'm surprised that nobody has done it, seeing as how one of the only major downsides to the Raptor is the fuel economy.

Madcowranch

Genetically Modified
Reaction score