Are after market Bump Stops still needed?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Keller Steeler

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I pick up my 19 tomorrow - coming from a 14. I will take it the TexPlex track 6 plus times a year and do at least one TRR event. I am a novice driver and don’t push it too much off-road, but that could change the more I do it. My current plan is to add bumps and Deavers. After watching the videos coming out from Utah at the Ford Center, they seem to be getting as much air as I will be. Do I need them on a 19?

I don’t mind spending the money to protect the investment, but also don’t want to throw away money if not needed. If they offer protection and benefits as I progress, great. I just would kick myself if I didn’t ask the question after seeing the videos. Thoughts?

Loufish

FRF Addict
Reaction score
I have an 2018 with Deavers and a SDHQ 2.0" bump kit...If I bought a 2019 tomorrow I might replace the springs as I'm sure they are unchanged, but the very first thing is to drive it off road to evaluate the new system first before making any changes....you may find the new Live Valve system works very well..
That being said my gut says the springs will still needed to be replaced...

R

Rick@FreedomMotorsports

I would highly recommend a bump stop kit if you plan on off-roading especially at TRR. Live shocks will help with dampning but still won’t be able to compensate what a set of deavers and an RPG bump stop can do.

There is a hard rubber foam stop attached to the bottom of the frame. It is designed to hit the axle pad that it part of the 2” block under the leaf springs. When you hit it, it can be harsh causing the rear end to kick and need to regain control if abrupt.