Aftermarket mods, will I recoup dollars spent?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

USA

Reaction score
I'm new to the aftermarket truck mod game so go easy on me! I'm thinking through what aftermarket mods to do to my Gen 3, and as I calculate it, it's pretty easy to drop $10-$20k on non-mechanical things things like, ADD front and rear bumpers, Baja Design Lights, Xpel paint protection film, Intercooler and maybe a Warn winch...

The elephant in the room, will I recoup the money I spend on these quality aftermarket mods when I go to sell the truck in 5 years?

What has been your experience? Perhaps what are things worth while or things to avoid? Like, how bad is it to do a frame cut aftermarket bumper?

Thanks!

D3 SS 3D

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Someone else may have a different take, but in my experience, the answer is no, you will not recover your full $ spent on mods. For example, if you plan on selling your truck to a dealership (in my experience dealers prefer OEM spec'd cars, not modified), then I'd keep all the OEM take off stuff, reinstall it before sell (so labor install $ outflow), then sell all the aftermarket stuff on another site as used (so you'll get less than new obviously). On the other hand, sometimes you can sell a "modified" vehicle on a forum or other place for modified vehicles or to an individual and get some of your investment back, but it will certainly not be $1 to $1 invested. For example, the shop I use to install my parts, the owner had a highly modified 2018 Raptor, like 100K in parts / labor modified, he recently sold it for it for 90K to a private party.

Good Luck!

Donovan

FRF Addict
Reaction score
I've owned a ton of sports cars.

Mods don't help your case. It does not change here. With that being said, who is spending 10-20 thousand on a raptor?

You literally need the following: