Truck Geometry - Levelling

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

vazo

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Just curious and wanted to here from people that were way more knowledgeable than me as I am new to these trucks.

If you were to raise the front using either perch collars or replacement springs, should the height increase in the front impact the height in the rear of the truck?

I am just trying to plan my how I am going to level my truck and have been debating if I should go with springs or collars. I don't want the truck to sit nose high and when I took some measurements it appeared that the eibach springs would definitely make it sit nose high.

So I decided to do a little test. I rigged a metal bar to fit under my front tow hooks, then used my floor jack in the middle of that bar to raise it 1.5", 2" and 2.5" and then measure the back.

I noticed that as i raised the front the rear would actually lower. So I then decided to support the rear by putting a jack stand under the rear hitch.

Now I realize there are a lot of variables in this but below is what I found:

View media item 14137

So as you can see from the chart without supporting the back the chart tells me that I could get away with a 1.5" perch collar and I could get a level truck but you will also see that as I raise the front of the truck the rear drops.

Now with the back end supported I noticed that as I raised the front the rear also crept up a bit.

Again, i realize this isn't fool proof but is this typically what happens when you raise the front end? Should raising the front end have an impact on the rear and if so what numbers above would be a close representation of what happens?

Thanks

Last edited:

Leftsidej

Full Access Member
Reaction score