1/2 ton, 3/4 ton, 1 ton? WTF?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MDJAK

FRF Addict
Reaction score
I’ve admitted in past posts that, not only am I a smidgeon younger than @Oldfart who we all know can still do the Irish jig, but that I’m new to trucks, having bought my first truck a 17 Raptor followed in quick succession by a 18 Platinum and my current 19 Raptor.

So I see commercials, print ads showing 3/4 ton trucks, etc.

I know the f250 is bigger, the 350 bigger, etc. but what does the tonnage designation denote?

And which of the Chevy and Dodge trucks are the same size as an f150, 250, 350.

smurfslayer

Be vewwy, vewwy quiet. We’re hunting sasquatch77
Reaction score
cargo capacity. The Rap is a half ton truck, meaning it’s rated to haul about 1k pounds of cargo safely. Because Ford knows that means exactly **** when you’re on a job site and you have exactly 1 truck bed full of bricks that need to be hauled from point a to point b, Ford, and I’m sure every other manufacturer to some extent, test even their half ton trucks under “is he crazy?” conditions. I hauled an entire bed full of oak tree my buddy cut down in my 2001 Lightning. It was riding low in the back, but continued to move out smartly without any drama.

The owner’s manual will guide you on what’s permissible to haul weight wise.

MadMaxx

Full Access Member
Reaction score
F150 / 1500 - 1/2 Ton

F250 / 2500 - 3/4 Ton

F350 / 3500 - 1 Ton

Tonnage Classification usually goes by Payload Capacity.

Needless to say, I had a lil less than 500lbs in the bed of the Raptor the other day, and I was less than satisfied with the amount of Squat the rear had with that little weight in it.

I know the Raptor has lighter capacity Leafs than a regular F150, but c'mon, it was less than 500lbs, and it squatted more than 2". Gave it the stupid Cali Lean look.