wiring help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

dudmleh522

Full Access Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2021
Posts
165
Reaction score
20
Location
AZ
I am trying to install the foglight kit. LED Pods are 40W each. so total of 6 will be 240W.
I was planning to wire all 6 lights to switch 1 or 2 which is 15A for 2018 model.
I noticed switch wire in the engine bay is 20 gauge wire.

question.
1. do i need to have a relay?
2. can i use thicker gauge wire for example 20 gauge to 14 or 12?
3. having 6 LED pods at 40W each is that too much for 15A switch?
 

Nex

RIP CoronaRaptor
Joined
Sep 2, 2021
Posts
7,716
Reaction score
21,232
Location
Washington State
I run 14g wire for all of my lighting.

Running the uplifter to power the relay switch on is nice built in safety.

Need to know the amp draw for each light to answer your question. Are the all fogs or split with spots?

When I ran the 6 pack, I had the 4 fogs on 1 switch, 2 spots on the other. Having the flexibility on the road to not have "ALL THE LIGHTS" is a nice option. Passing motorists will also appreciate them not all being on as well.
 

CleverGirl_

Cabin Clown
Joined
Jun 23, 2023
Posts
1,872
Reaction score
4,379
Location
TN
I run 14g wire for all of my lighting.

Running the uplifter to power the relay switch on is nice built in safety.

Need to know the amp draw for each light to answer your question. Are the all fogs or split with spots?

When I ran the 6 pack, I had the 4 fogs on 1 switch, 2 spots on the other. Having the flexibility on the road to not have "ALL THE LIGHTS" is a nice option. Passing motorists will also appreciate them not all being on as well.
200.gif
 
OP
OP
D

dudmleh522

Full Access Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2021
Posts
165
Reaction score
20
Location
AZ
I run 14g wire for all of my lighting.

Running the uplifter to power the relay switch on is nice built in safety.

Need to know the amp draw for each light to answer your question. Are the all fogs or split with spots?

When I ran the 6 pack, I had the 4 fogs on 1 switch, 2 spots on the other. Having the flexibility on the road to not have "ALL THE LIGHTS" is a nice option. Passing motorists will also appreciate them not all being on as well.
So looks like they have 4 10w leds so 40/12 roughly 3 1/3amps
2 pairs of white spot and 1 pair of amber flood will be my setup

Switch 1 and 2 is not being used but planning to use one of them for the fog light kit and light bar in the future.

currently switch 3 is my ditch light
switch 4 rear chase light
5, 6 not being used
 

smurfslayer

Be vewwy, vewwy quiet. We’re hunting sasquatch77
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Posts
16,279
Reaction score
23,977
I am trying to install the foglight kit. LED Pods are 40W each. so total of 6 will be 240W.
I was planning to wire all 6 lights to switch 1 or 2 which is 15A for 2018 model.
I noticed switch wire in the engine bay is 20 gauge wire.

question.
1. do i need to have a relay?
2. can i use thicker gauge wire for example 20 gauge to 14 or 12?
3. having 6 LED pods at 40W each is that too much for 15A switch?
so 3.3 amps roughly per LED pod
That’s going to be a tick under 20 amps, so no go with out either changing the allocation or using a relay. Pull 1 pair and you’ll be at 13.2a which to me is still close enough to put a relay on a 15a circuit.

14 gauge multi strand should be good for 20a ( romex/bx/mc/uf ) house wire is single strand and not as efficient and 14 in those example are only rated 15a.

So yes, 6 pods would overload your 15a circuit.

Need to know the amp draw for each light to answer your question. Are the all fogs or split with spots?
Did someone say ohm’s law?

So looks like they have 4 10w leds so 40/12 roughly 3 1/3amps
2 pairs of white spot and 1 pair of amber flood will be my setup

I’m sayin’.
 
OP
OP
D

dudmleh522

Full Access Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2021
Posts
165
Reaction score
20
Location
AZ
so 3.3 amps roughly per LED pod
That’s going to be a tick under 20 amps, so no go with out either changing the allocation or using a relay. Pull 1 pair and you’ll be at 13.2a which to me is still close enough to put a relay on a 15a circuit.

14 gauge multi strand should be good for 20a ( romex/bx/mc/uf ) house wire is single strand and not as efficient and 14 in those example are only rated 15a.

So yes, 6 pods would overload your 15a circuit.


Did someone say ohm’s law?



I’m sayin’.
Another question. Can i hook up 2x 36w to switch 4 which is 5A?
 
Top