VHF radio install pic's

Discussion in 'Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1]' started by Wilson, Mar 14, 2013.

  1. Dutch451

    Dutch451 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    110
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Sweet, thanks, looks easy enough :)
     
  2. All The Way

    All The Way FRF Addict

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,874
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Location:
    Lockport, NY
    Wilson likes this.
  3. Dutch451

    Dutch451 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    110
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Tested today and got my Technician license. Woohoo, now I can finally install all this stuff, lol. Unfortunately my laptop has been out for repair for a bit now, so I wasn't able to study the General material, but the examiner said I could come back within the year and take it and they won't charge me. Hopefully I can find a garage to use so I don't freeze my ass off running wires. I'll get pictures posted once everything is in.

    Since I want to mount the face plate in the headliner, hopefully I can come up with a mounting plate that'll work where I can put a couple more switches in it for whatever.
     
    Wilson likes this.
  4. Wilson

    Wilson FRF Addict

    Age:
    44
    Posts:
    25,786
    Likes Received:
    9,804
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Location:
    South Dakota
    You can use my garage if you wire mine or just use my garage
     
  5. All The Way

    All The Way FRF Addict

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    1,874
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Location:
    Lockport, NY
    The General test isn't to bad.. The Extra test is gonna be fun.
     
  6. srs

    srs Full Access Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    673
    Likes Received:
    1,024
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Location:
    Tomball, TX
    Where did you get this from? Got a link? Thanks!
     
  7. Rookie

    Rookie Supporting Vendor Supporting Vendor

    Posts:
    9,766
    Likes Received:
    3,582
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Kmandoske and srs like this.
  8. rkneeshaw

    rkneeshaw Full Access Member

    Posts:
    158
    Likes Received:
    127
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Location:
    Northern Michigan
    Installed my antenna mount today, what a bitch that was. Getting under the carpet and into the console cleanly is a real challenge. But finally, after about 3 hours, I got it in.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Now I need to order a radio :)

    And terminate my power and ground
    And connect RJ45 jack to the side of the cupholders
     
    Wilson and Trick_Raptor like this.
  9. DEGBTI

    DEGBTI Full Access Member

    Age:
    53
    Posts:
    162
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    going to install my antenna mount friday. Same as yours. Any advice? going to my center console too. thanks
     
  10. rkneeshaw

    rkneeshaw Full Access Member

    Posts:
    158
    Likes Received:
    127
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Location:
    Northern Michigan
    Be prepared to be patient, and you're going to have to almost entirely dismantle your center console.

    I had to remove the passenger seat (at least unbolt it and move it out of the way) so I could get enough slack in the carpet to run the antenna cable accross and up to the back of the console.

    From there you'll have to remove the 2 8mm bolts near the bottom rear sides of the console so you can lift the console up about an inch or two, giving you enough room to get that large antenna connector routed up and in.

    I chose to run my wiring right under the little media hub inside the console. That way the hole i cut will be really hard to see.

    i also intend to use the aux in ports on that little media hub in there to pipe the audio from the radio into the built-in stereo system.

    I also ran a small amount of cat5 forward to the front of the cup holders and I intend to put a RJ45 jack there on the side of the cupholders so the mic can plug in there.

    Be prepared to bleed too :) my hands are all cut up.

    But in the end, it will be real clean and OEM like.
     

Share This Page