Help Support Ford Raptor Forum by donating:


VHF radio install pic's

Discussion in 'Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1]' started by Wilson, Mar 14, 2013.

  1. DEGBTI

    DEGBTI Full Access Member

    Age:
    55
    Posts:
    221
    Likes Received:
    97
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Location:
    San Diego

    awesome!, thank you for taking the time to help. Very much appreciated!
     
  2. rkneeshaw

    rkneeshaw Full Access Member

    Posts:
    219
    Likes Received:
    187
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Location:
    Northern Michigan
    Completed the next phase of the install:

    [​IMG]

    Used a panel mount RJ45 jack and a proclips mount for the mic. It clips into place, so no permanent drilling and i can remove it if I wont be using the radio for a while.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Ran the cat5 into the console for the radio

    [​IMG]

    And mounted the 1/4 wave dual band antenna (Tram, from amazon)

    [​IMG]

    I ordered a larsen NMOWB150B 1/2 wave for when I really need to reach out and touch someone
     
    BenBB likes this.
  3. rkneeshaw

    rkneeshaw Full Access Member

    Posts:
    219
    Likes Received:
    187
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Location:
    Northern Michigan
    Finished up the radio install today.

    This was tricky, getting these holes lined up. Its still not perfect but probably hard to tell. This is all you can see from outside the console, is two screw heads

    [​IMG]

    And the radio is mounted inside.

    [​IMG]
     
    BenBB likes this.
  4. jackrook

    jackrook FRF Addict

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    704
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Location:
    Bermuda Dunes, Ca
    Ok fellas. I’m mounting up my Icom F5021. I bought one unprogrammed on the cheap fro the bay. Bought the programming cd and have been researching. So I added the channels TO THE BEST OF MY ABILITY. Does anyone here have instructions or screenshots on how to program an Icom f5021? I have the cd and cable. But have no idea what I’m doing
     
  5. Wilson

    Wilson FRF Addict

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    26,072
    Likes Received:
    10,020
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Location:
    South Dakota
    try the one and only radio thread. I have it linked on the first post.
     
  6. Clogking

    Clogking Member

    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2019
    Location:
    Solvang
    Well have a Gen 11 (Aluminum no mag mounts) got the third light antenna system....... Is anybody running two radios? In Baja you need Weatherman and a race Freq. What are people doing about that?
     
  7. everestm

    everestm Member

    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    If you need to monitor two channels at the same time, you can just get a dual receive radio. This is the one I have and it is great.

    https://www.hamradio.com/detail.cfm?pid=H0-014544
     

Share This Page