Sync 3.4 Update

Proflyer

FRF Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Joined
May 21, 2020
Posts
309
Reaction score
280
Location
Denver
Thanks I know how to contact XM provider just trying to understand the comment. I also saw where you should do a reset at the end of the update. Thanks again,
Yes, you should do a master reset of the Sync after you do an update. After doing that, it takes the satellite radio a bit to sync up again.
 

Donmatteo

Full Access Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2018
Posts
963
Reaction score
786
Location
Santa Clarita
Thanks I know how to contact XM provider just trying to understand the comment. I also saw where you should do a reset at the end of the update. Thanks again,

OK. If you call them and go thought the automated calling tree, they will end up sending you a text with a link to refresh your radio. I keep it handy for when it doesn't update subscription info or other weird issues like traffic etc.
 

rcseorgia

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2018
Posts
18
Reaction score
5
Location
S. Arizona
I tried my update via USB to Sync 3.4 today on my 2019 Raptor. The truck was doing fine and update (top banner only indication) was proceeding until 34 minutes after starting the engine (and locking key in the car) when I went outside and the truck had STOPPED.
Now the 8" screen is blank. For 15 seconds I was able to see backup camera when I put it in reverse. Now that has gone.

Called Ford and the 2nd call was to the right person to troubleshoot Sync. She told me how to reboot Sync (let me know if you want me to document this). 30 minutes later I'm looking at Sync 3.4. Happy Ending. LOL
 

Ski4Ever

Full Access Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2019
Posts
436
Reaction score
113
Location
Denver, CO
Called Ford and the 2nd call was to the right person to troubleshoot Sync. She told me how to reboot Sync (let me know if you want me to document this). 30 minutes later I'm looking at Sync 3.4. Happy Ending. LOL
Maybe just my opinion, but I would say documenting it here would be very helpful just in case something happens to someone else in the future and could use that info. Actually, if you could start a new thread that has an appropriate title (something like 'Sync Reboot and Reset Instructions') that may be a better place for it.
 

K223

FRF Addict
Joined
Sep 15, 2019
Posts
4,175
Reaction score
2,169
Location
Florida
I should add a note as well. So I had the dreaded no car play after plugging in my phone. Normally a reboot of Sync (hold power and forward advance key until it reboots twice in succession) and maybe a power down of the phone will bring back CarPlay. This happens here and there.

But this time around I could not get CarPlay to come up in Sync. Most I could use was the downloaded directly to Sync apps like Waze, etc.

What I needed to do was delete my phone from Sync and under CarPlay remove the truck. Plug the phone back into the truck and I was back up again.

Just in case this happens to anyone else. I have done this procedure in other Ford products. First time In the truck.
 

evan9r

Active Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Posts
79
Reaction score
10
Has anyone found a way to keep the notification for SYNC Connect notifying passengers on start up, from popping up?
 

breezy

Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2021
Posts
39
Reaction score
9
Location
NC
I used the Cyan labs upgrade from 3.3 to 3.4 and then used the Ford site to upgrade to the latest 3.4 version. I thought for sure the Ford update would have balked at the previous Cyan labs install.
What year is your truck?
 

breezy

Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2021
Posts
39
Reaction score
9
Location
NC
I did. Nothing there. Don't want to do it again for no reason as everything else is working perfectly. Maybe it doesn't do it since I used the cyanlabs process and files and not the Ford process. On Ford's website it says my 3.0 is up to date...
Same here on my 2017, updated officially... to 3.0. No other updates found so I went Cyan to 3.4.
 
Top