Some tips I learned for doing stereo work on the Raptor

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Oldfart

FRF Addict
Reaction score
I'm no pro for sure, just trying to pass on a few things I learned during my stereo install recently. Hopefully this can help other people trying to upgrade their systems themselves. Buy a set of plastic trim removal tools. For occasional use the HF are fine.
https://www.harborfreight.com/trim-and-molding-tool-set-5-pc-64126.html

Get a set of o-ring pics from HF or Autozone. You really need the one that has a right angle bend in it. You will need it to remove a small trim piece that is just below the inside door handle.
https://www.harborfreight.com/pick-and-hook-set-7-pc-69592.html

If you haven't already gotten a Builtright rear seat release, get one. It will make your life so much easier to get in and out while working behind drivers side rear seat. Once installed you just pull the strap and the seat comes forward easily.
https://www.apollo-optics.com/colle.../products/rear-seat-release-kit-ford-f-series

The door panel is pretty straight forward to remove except for if you don't know the trick to remove the small (about 2" X 4") trim piece that is just below the interior door pull. It has 2 vertical tabs that hold it in at the bottom, and 2 horizontal tabs at the top. If you try to pull out the bottom it's a real bitch and you will likely break it. You stick the pic in at the top turned horizontal, go behind it and turn it 90 degrees and give it a pull and it will pop right out. On the door handle cover make sure you pop it in the front, there is a big tab in the rear that slots into the door panel. Pop the front end and pull it forward.

upload_2020-7-26_0-12-31.png

20200707_143003-jpg.148451

20200707_143113-1-jpg.148452

upload_2020-7-26_0-11-37.png