Moving Aux switches and buttons?

Discussion in 'Ford Raptor Interior Modifications Forum [GEN 1]' started by RyRyB, Apr 25, 2017.

Sponsored By: Special Vehicle Concepts
  1. RyRyB

    RyRyB Member

    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Location:
    Denver, Co
    Hello!
    I've been a constant forum lurker since before I had my raptor. I wanna know if anyone has completely relocated the aux switches and off-road mode buttons in order to put a normal f150 console (the one with the little storage container forward of the shifter) in their truck? I've been scouring the internet and all the rest of f150 forums seem to be putting the raptor mounts in theirs. I wanna do the opposite. I liked the crown offroad over head switches and then just mount into the shifter console to mount the buttons but I really wanna keep it cheap. Thanks for the help!
     
  2. Aaron

    Aaron Meme Corps Commandant

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    13,164
    Likes Received:
    7,456
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Tucson,AZ
    Your plan, and 'cheap' are gonna be mutually exclusive.
     
  3. RyRyB

    RyRyB Member

    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Location:
    Denver, Co
    That is pretty much what I've figured... worth a shot though to see if anyone has rigged up anything. I'd rather do it right though.
     
  4. Jimbo

    Jimbo Mad Frog Mattis

    Posts:
    12,603
    Likes Received:
    8,863
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Location:
    IL
    You can relocate them to the trailer brake area or others have modified the business card holder and moved them there. They're both labor intensive and you'd need to extend the pigtails to reach those locations.
     
  5. Aaron

    Aaron Meme Corps Commandant

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    13,164
    Likes Received:
    7,456
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Tucson,AZ
    I mean if you really wanted to do it, I'd go with the sunglasses holder as a switch mount location and then if you're the DIY type it's really just gonna be wires and solder to extend them up there. You'll probably need a custom bracket too, but that's how I'd do it. I feel like it'd be really annoying putting those way up there though.

    I've also seen aux switches mounted in the weird little pocket to the right of the climate controls. You could go that route.
     
  6. crash457

    crash457 I'm Batman Supporting Member

    Posts:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    1,863
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO

Share This Page