YULU E10 Plus Car Radio Review

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

GoDucks

Active Member
Joined
May 10, 2022
Posts
86
Reaction score
98
Location
Portland, OR
Seriously, why can't a well know company like Kenwood, Alpine or Pioneer develop one of these big screen head units for us. I'd buy immediately. Yulu unit does look good but that's frustrating to wait weeks or months.
 

rey_1178

Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2021
Posts
16
Reaction score
5
Location
Florida
I think both.

I had this installed by my local shop and I used a Zen-A2B. That was recommended. I am using the Optical output from my Zen to my Amp.

On their webpage they state: "5 Volt RCA Output & Optical output". So I guess you can hook it up to a amp? I am no expert in this matter which is why I had it installed. I can look at the instructions when I get home. They also have Install video's on YouTube.

Of course you can install it with no amps.
I've had this unit since July and do love it. By experience it is superior to the phoenix and linkswell units. How are you controlling the volume? I tried both the optical and rca's and one of the problems is I couldn't adjust the volume up or down. They are aware of this issue and supposedly are working on a solution. Also when you use either the RCA or Optical connections, you can't hear anything that comes from the sync 3 system. So things like the factory radio you can not hear.

I'm assuming this is your experience as well correct?
 
Last edited:

rey_1178

Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2021
Posts
16
Reaction score
5
Location
Florida
mrbaird2022 my Android Auto screen does not look that clean (Resolution seems lower or the scaling is off.) what are your settings?
Do you or anyone else still need these settings? I can post everything I changed to get it dialed in nicely. I'm assuming we're talking about Headunit Reloaded which. I've tried their TLINK app but one of my issues is dark mode doesn't work most of the time.
 

Todd Turbo S

Full Access Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Posts
995
Reaction score
1,432
Location
Nor Cal
I bought this a couple weeks ago and I am loving it. So thought it was time to write a review. I had his unit installed for me. Overall I think it was worth the money. I have taken several road trips. The bigger navigation screen is so nice and helps so much. I use amazon music and the app works great. I can download playlists or stream music. I have even installed restaurant apps and ordered food for pick up on it. Makes life so easy lol

Con’s
  • You lose the ability to link your phone. For example if you sold the truck the next person could not link their phone unless they install the original Ford Unit. That ability to link a phone is not in the E10. So as long as you link your phone before you install the unit your ok.
  • $$$$ it’s not cheap
  • For my 2019 I lost Sirius but you can use the app to stream it. Not a big deal.
  • The Android Auto window is half the screen which sucks. (Note: I thought this was a big deal but now that I have had the unit a while I never use Android Auto.) You also can't split screen this. You can buy a app that will make Android Auto full screen but the resolution does not seem to be as clear. Apple Car Play is full screen.
  • No volume control knob or preset buttons. I thought I would hate this but I have gotten use to using the Steering wheel and prefer it now actually. You also have a on screen volume and can even use your voice to change the volume. I never used the preset buttons anyway.
  • Takes a while to dial it in and customize like you like it (Also a Pro that is has so much customization to it.)
Pros:
  • You keep all your Climate control knobs buttons!!!
  • It boots up super fast and no lag when you use it. Very nice.
  • Wireless Carplay/Android Auto No more hooking it up every time you get in.
  • Nice EQ it has 48 bands you can adjust.
  • The bigger display is so nice with navigation.
  • You can watch videos with no “Voice Lag”.
  • Add any apps you want. I have my Garage door, radar detector, Dash Cam, Facebook, Messenger, anything that works on a tablet/phone. No problems so far.
  • You can also see a lot of your car information because it connects to your ODB port (This might be a Con for some people if you use your OBD port for like COBB access port or the like). You can see your Tire pressure (Even your tire temp if you click on it), Battery Voltage, how many gallons of Fuel you have in your tank, airbag lights, etc.
  • I installed a SIM card so it’s always has internet access and can be used as a hotspot.
  • Bluetooth works great
  • Looks great installed like it came from the factory with it installed.
  • many other pros I can't think of atm
The customer service was ok. I had to call them because my radio stations app was funky. The presets did not match the numbers on the screen. I called them on my way home from work and they did not answer. I was going to try again later. Anyway they called me back and when I didn’t answer they left a message and texted me if I needed any help. I texted them back and through email they sent me the update to fix my problem. The emails did come in the middle of night.

Also the front camera function is kind of funky. I don’t know what to think about it yet. It comes on when you slow down. Which I find is a pain because I am always playing with it when I stop at a light etc and the camera keeps popping up. So I shut it off.

Also get a paper clip and straighten one side of it out. This is so you can reset it if it gets locked up. I had it lock up on me when my phone died and was using Android Auto. Plus when I was messing with the settings had it lock up on me. Been running solid for a while now with no problems. Just good to have one it just in case. It also has a reset in the pull down menu.

The company that installed my this unit and sells the LINKSWEEL. They like this one so much they said they are going to start telling customers about it.

Final comments. I am loving it and wished I bought one sooner and didn't wait so long. So much better then stock.


If you have questions I will try and answer them the best I can.

View attachment 374812View attachment 374813View attachment 374814View attachment 374815View attachment 374816
Nice review. Thank you for sharing. Looks great installed. On your con, the first one is a big one. When you get a new phone you’ll have to reinstall the originally head unit to link your new phone?
 
OP
OP
Ol_Blue

Ol_Blue

Active Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Posts
57
Reaction score
71
Location
Huntsville, AL
Do you or anyone else still need these settings? I can post everything I changed to get it dialed in nicely. I'm assuming we're talking about Headunit Reloaded which. I've tried their TLINK app but one of my issues is dark mode doesn't work most of the time.
Yes can you post your Headunit Reloaded settings please. I feel like mine can look better then it does.
 
OP
OP
Ol_Blue

Ol_Blue

Active Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Posts
57
Reaction score
71
Location
Huntsville, AL
On your con, the first one is a big one. When you get a new phone you’ll have to reinstall the originally head unit to link your new phone?
No. You just install Ford Pass on your knew phone log in and your good to go.

If you sell your truck and someone wants to link their phone you can't link Ford pass and the unit. No option in the setting to do this in the Unit. So they would have to put the old unit in.
 
OP
OP
Ol_Blue

Ol_Blue

Active Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Posts
57
Reaction score
71
Location
Huntsville, AL
How are you controlling the volume? I tried both the optical and rca's and one of the problems is I couldn't adjust the volume up or down. They are aware of this issue and supposedly are working on a solution. Also when you use either the RCA or Optical connections, you can't hear anything that comes from the sync 3 system. So things like the factory radio you can not hear.

I'm assuming this is your experience as well correct?
I have a Zen A2B and don't have any of these problems. Volume works perfect and I hear all the sync 3 system sounds.
 

mrbaird2022

Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2022
Posts
43
Reaction score
16
Location
Texas
Do you or anyone else still need these settings? I can post everything I changed to get it dialed in nicely. I'm assuming we're talking about Headunit Reloaded which. I've tried their TLINK app but one of my issues is dark mode doesn't work most of the time.
Iv got T-link to work even have coolwalk now, but! Like always we want more! (We wouldn't have bought this thing if not) dark mode is achieved by after it's up toggle the setting from auto to dark/light(within AA)...on to the next trick trying to get HU reloaded to work in self mode it did on the way home..my res dpi were bit off but problem is getting it up and running each time is cumbersome. may have to try my hand at tasker app but AA Has to be in "server mode" achieved from getting developer options enabled after tapping version 10 times or how ever many it was then server mode will be available in hamburger menu top right ..doing that each time you start AA is kinda of pain but self mode worked treated the head unit like your phone ..(internet is grabbed from f150 hotspot) kinda cool still would like a more stable AA automated
Start up...
 
Top