Light Bar Question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Memphis Ken

Reaction score
Hello - I had some rigid lights installed yesterday on my 2018 Raptor and think that they may have wired the rigid grille light bar (41612) to an aux switch that can not handle the load. I have zero electrical experience so am hoping someone on here can help me ensure I don't have a potential major issue on my hands. The light bar specs indicate total watts 138 and amp draw 9.86 (14,256 raw lumans) and the updated 2018 aux switch indicate that aux 4 is a 10A fuse. They used aux 1-3 for some rigid front bumper fog lights. Aux 1 and 2 are 15A fuses so am thinking that they need to switch them around. The lights all work but don't want a fire hazard on my hands or some other electrical problem popping up so would appreciate any insight. The place is closed today or I would just call them directly. Thanks!

MnFlyer

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Do you know if they used relays to wire up the lights? If they did there should be no problem. Most relays should be 40amps on the normally closed (NC) side. The upfitter switch then isn’t providing power to the lights just to the relay to command open and close.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

OP
OP
Memphis Ken

Memphis Ken

Reaction score
I don’t know if they used a relay but a good question for me to ask them when they open tomorrow. I appreciate the reply. I am going to just hold off using them until I know for sure.

saeuta

Reaction score
I don’t know if they used a relay but a good question for me to ask them when they open tomorrow. I appreciate the reply. I am going to just hold off using them until I know for sure.
I know it's way after but when that happened to me, my fuse kept burning out. It's fixed now

OP
OP
Memphis Ken

Memphis Ken

Reaction score