Any setup that can safely tow my 5500lb tractor?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

esprits4s

Reaction score
So, I've been digging through forums trying to understand if I could put together a setup to tow a 5500lb tractor with my raptor. From what I've read, it's borderline at best, but I thought I'd check with some Raptor owners as I'm a bit new to towing heavier gear.

My tractor weighs about 5500 lbs. I haven't purchased a trailer yet. My question is whether it is feasible to tow this tractor, on a trailer, with my '17 raptor.

Last edited:
OP
OP
E

esprits4s

Reaction score
Thanks! Any recommendation for the type of trailer and weight distribution hitch? I was worried about the tongue weight as that seemed to potentially be the limiting factor. Would I need to change the rear springs?

Johnkn

FRF Addict
Reaction score
Which tractor and what will be mounted on it? FEL? Backhoe, etc.

There are several quality brands. If buying a new trailer my suggestion is to focus on quality and consider it a lifetime buy. I tow my Kubota in a quality Sure Trac trailer and I also have a Holmes trailer, both very good.

Etrailer.com is a great source for all hitches, and lots of knowledge there.

Good luck..

OP
OP
E

esprits4s

Reaction score
The tractor is a Holder C9.78H which weighs about 5300lbs with no attachments. The attachments I use weigh between 400 and 800 lbs, but I primarily want the trailer to move just the tractor for repair/restoration work, so I am OK if I can't transport the tractor fully loaded.

OP
OP
E

esprits4s

Reaction score
This isn't mine, stole the pic from the internet, but my tractor is this configuration.

304-1.jpg

Johnkn

FRF Addict
Reaction score