Performance difference between Gen 2’s

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

FordTechOne

FRF Addict
Reaction score
Thank you for actually trying to help and not complaining that I ran my last truck on mid grade lol. Boost pressure has seemed okay but I’ll try to keep a closer eye on it. Any good ways to check fir a boost leak from a blowoff valve? Sorry if that’s a dumb question the raptor is my first experience with forced induction so im still learning.

If the valve is leaking you will still have boost pressure, but it would be lower than desired. If you have ForScan, you should be able to compare the Boost Desired and Boost Actual PIDs to determine if there’s an issue. You could also physically remove and inspect the BOV to see if it’s sticking open. Alternatively, you could bring it to a shop/dealer that has a high pressure smoke machine, which will identify any boost leaks in the system.

Also, note that if the previous owner was running 87 octane, the truck would have adapted to that and will not recognize the higher octane right away. To reset the PCM, you can perform a KAM reset with ForScan. That will reset all parameters, including shifting.

isis

FRF Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I always ran both trucks in the low 40s on road. I air down when I go off-road but should I be running something different on road?
I run 38F 35R for comfort. 40 all the way around like the dealer sets rides rock hard IMO. Lower pressure would create more drag but honestly I don’t know how much it would affect something this heavy with tires this big. I know on an anemic 4-banger it makes a big difference in acceleration.

sixshooter_45

2019 Ruby Red Metallic SC, 3.5 L Twin Turbos.
Reaction score