Switching from BD Sqaudron Pro to LP4

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

nikhsub1

FRF Addict
Reaction score
So, when it comes to electronics and all that goes with it, I am a total noob. Meaning Volts, Watts etc. I currently have 2 squadron pros mounted on the cowl with sdhq mounts. I want to move to the LP4s up there. The thing is, I have the 2 squadrons connected to ONE uplifter switch, switch 3. IIRC it is rated at 10A and the lights I have are 2.9A each so no issue on a 10A circuit. Now the LP4s are 5.5A each, bringing the total of both to 11 (insert spinal tap jokes here) which is obviously above the 10A rating. What the **** can I do? Also, anyone with these lights regarding the backlight - do you just wire a wire to the fuse box to a fuse with switched power so the backlight is always on when the truck is on?

TIA for any insight.

downforce137

FRF Addict
Reaction score
So, when it comes to electronics and all that goes with it, I am a total noob. Meaning Volts, Watts etc. I currently have 2 squadron pros mounted on the cowl with sdhq mounts. I want to move to the LP4s up there. The thing is, I have the 2 squadrons connected to ONE uplifter switch, switch 3. IIRC it is rated at 10A and the lights I have are 2.9A each so no issue on a 10A circuit. Now the LP4s are 5.5A each, bringing the total of both to 11 (insert spinal tap jokes here) which is obviously above the 10A rating. What the **** can I do? Also, anyone with these lights regarding the backlight - do you just wire a wire to the fuse box to a fuse with switched power so the backlight is always on when the truck is on?

TIA for any insight.

aux1 and 2 are 15A, 3 and 4 are 10A, and 5 and 6 are 5A

you can wire in a relay and use the AUX switch of you choice to turn the relay on, or hook up your 11A of lighting to AUX1 or AUX2