GEN 1 Replacing Spark Plugs on Roush 2013

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ruckus08

FRF Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi all. Well, this is my first attempt at formally giving back to the FRF community. Just got my 2013 Roush a few months ago. Hopefully this is helpful to someone. I recently purchased the 700hp JDM upgrade kit and installed it over the weekend. I am happy to answer any questions about the overall install but thought I’d specifically post about replacing the spark plugs as it was…painful because of the SC.

Tools I used for the job:
· 5/16” socket, both 3/8” and ¼” (used for coil pack removals and 90 degree spacer between Throttle Body and SC—this, this is the painful part)
· 5/16” wrench (ratcheting if you have it)
· ¼” to 3/8” conversion socket
· 3/8” extensions- 10”, 6”, 3” if you have them (you may need to use ½” instead or have a breaker bar handy to get some of the plugs loose)
· ¼” extensions- 6” and 3” (you can probably get by with 3” only. Used these for the last two bolts behind the TB spacer)
· 6” Swivel spark plug socket (LIFE SAVER)
· 3/8” swivel joint
· (Optional) Air compressor and blow gun (I highly recommend blowing out the area around the coil packs and plug ports before starting this job)

It took me a little less than 3 hrs to complete 14 of the 16 spark plugs and then another 3 hrs to get the damn throttle body spacer off to get to the last two. If I did it over again I could do the job in 4hrs with the info below.
· You’ll need to remove the air intake completely. For the Roush intake it may be easier to remove the throttle body with the intake (I did anyway because I installed the Ford Racing 65mm TB) as the intake hose clamp tensioning bolt may be underneath the hose and impossible to reach.