Mods vs warranty

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jjwpgh

Full Access Member
Reaction score
With the SCT X3 you can switch the truck back to your trucks specific stock tune with about 15 minutes of free time. I run the 93 perf tune from 5star but if/when I have to go to the dealer for anything i'll be switching it back to the stock mappings and leaving the sct x3 at home.

Wrong Way

Full Access Member
Reaction score
You can always buy a second ECU that way no "fingerprints" (evidence of a tune) are left.

Pynenut

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've been running the 91 performance tune for a couple months and I may need to take the truck back to the dealer for some things. If I return in to stock, should I let them know and will them reflashing the transmission for example cause any issues?

DubbsFaris

Full Access Member
Reaction score
A tech can tell if you have tuned your raptor, even if you return it to stock. Ford got pretty smart with all of their vehicles in the last few years, and just so you know, if your aftermarket tune is detected, it will void your entire power train warranty and even SOME electrical components as well.

Ford dealers will typical have techs that while they make the most stupid mistakes in the world that even a typical mechanic would never screw up, They are trained on detecting tunes over any other aspect of their jobs. Why? If you break it and they can prove you had a tune, they stand to make a tremendous amount of additional money from that. Ford pays a set amount for warranty work, it is paperwork intensive, and dealers consider it a heavy burden of their labor force.

This is the short answer believe it or not, and it can get extremely unpleasant for the owner, even if they are on the right side of the issue.