ICOM 4100 Radio Help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

SCMike

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I’m brand new to HAM radios. I recently purchased a ID-4100A to use while off road. While on a recent trip to Baja, I was unable to transmit on station 151.625 among others. I was getting an error on the screen saying “out of band”. I was able to receive crystal clear, but could not transmit. I’ve tried doing some research online, and found a tutorial that walks you through modifying the radio for additional transmit frequencies. In reading through the instructions it doesn’t seem to open up the frequencies enough.

Range After The Modification:
RX Frequency

• 118.000 – 136.991MHz [AM]
  • 137.000 – 174.000MHz [FM]
  • 230.000 – 374.995MHz [AM]
  • 230.000 – 550.000MHz [FM]
TX Frequency

• 137.000 – 174.000MHz [FM]
  • 400.000 – 470.000MHz [FM

Anyone have an idea on how I can open up transmit frequencies on this radio to cover the range I need? Again, total newbie here if you can’t tell. Thanks in advance for your help. -Mike

MEIRONMAN207

¿Goin somewhere...What are RU waiting 4?
Reaction score
I have the ID-5100A Deluxe, however, the end result is the same once you have the MARS/CAP mod done. I purchased mine at GiGa Parts and they do the mod for $35.00 prior to shipping. I am able to TX/RX without errors. Depending where you purchased yours, you might be able to send back to your vendor. I chose the route to have them do it to maintain their warranty and BTW, the diodes are tiny and there were three to remove on mine. That is my $0.02s

GiGa parts:
To make an amateur radio capable of transmitting just outside of the amateur radio bands, this service usually involves the removal of a surface mount component inside of an amateur radio (along with some additional steps).