How to use a buffer

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

outdoorsmen

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've been doing all my waxing by hand for the.past 2 years. In a whim I bought a buffer from harbor freight for $16. Thought it may be better then doing it by hand. I am getting ready for my big spring cleaning. Gonna clay bar by hand of course then polish and wax. All McGuire's ultimate products. I'm a little scared by using this buffer since I've never used one before. I don't know what bonnets to use, if they are reusable, or what kinds to get. I planned on being product specific with them. Strictly use one for the polish and different one for wax and different one for each removal.

so what should I know or just stick to doing it by hand?

Az Scooter

Full Access Member
Reaction score
It all depends. If it is a rotary buffer, which looks like a big grinder, you can easily do that. You can buy a Velcro backing plate that allows you to purchase different buffing pads. Places like Adams, who is a sponsor of this site, offer compounds that are color coded so that you can always be sure to use the correct pad with the correct product.
My guess is that you purchased a Gem type polisher, which is dual action, and looks like a big motor on the pad. There are terry cloth and microfiber pads available to use with it, and they are really simple to use, with almost zero chance of damaging your paint. Just take your time, and don't buy a quality buffer, because you will hate yourself later.

AdamsPolishes

Supporting Vendor
Supporting Vendor
Reaction score
Did you get an orbital, or a high speed rotary buffer?

I'd guess you got a high speed/rotary buffer at that price point, considering you're mentioning bonnets. I think the HF orbital is around $50.