Go Back   FORD RAPTOR FORUM - Ford SVT Raptor Forums - Ford Raptor > GEN 2 (2017+) Ford F-150 Raptor Forums > Ford Raptor Lighting Forum [GEN 2]
Become a Supporting Member         Become a Supporting Vendor

Register to remove these ads.


Ford Raptor Lighting Forum [GEN 2]

Daisy chain 8 x Rigid D-Series


This is a discussion on Daisy chain 8 x Rigid D-Series within the Ford Raptor Lighting Forum [GEN 2] forums, part of the GEN 2 (2017+) Ford F-150 Raptor Forums category!
Hi all, I have 8 x Rigid Industries D-Series Pro Spot lights going on a chase rack. I want to ...


User Tag List

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By raptorwarrior

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2018, 03:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Full Access Member

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Age: 29
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default Daisy chain 8 x Rigid D-Series
Hi all,

I have 8 x Rigid Industries D-Series Pro Spot lights going on a chase rack. I want to have all of the lights hooked into AUX-2 in the cab (one switch to turn them all on).
  • 30W/each (~240W total)
  • 2.14A/each (~20A total)

  1. Since all the lights go into one switch, how would you daisy chain the lights together? Just using one hotwire with 8 taps for each light??
  2. The fuse amp on AUX-2 is 15 Amps. I know I will have to switch this with a 20A fuse. Any issues with this? What about adding a relay?






__________________
2011 SCREW GEN1 Tuxedo Black

2017 SCAB GEN2 Magnetic
raptorwarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 03:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
downforce137's Avatar
Full Access Member

 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In Diana
Age: 43
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by raptorwarrior View Post
Hi all,

I have 8 x Rigid Industries D-Series Pro Spot lights going on a chase rack. I want to have all of the lights hooked into AUX-2 in the cab (one switch to turn them all on).
  • 30W/each (~240W total)
  • 2.14A/each (~20A total)

  1. Since all the lights go into one switch, how would you daisy chain the lights together? Just using one hotwire with 8 taps for each light??
  2. The fuse amp on AUX-2 is 15 Amps. I know I will have to switch this with a 20A fuse. Any issues with this? What about adding a relay?
it doesn't go to a 20a circuit just by changing the fuse. you'll need to run another relay and fuse to turn the lights on, and you can use AUX2 to energize the added relay circuit
downforce137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 04:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
4x4TruckLEDs.com's Avatar
Supporting Vendor

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Even with a 20amp fuse, that's pushing it. You might still pop a 20amp fuse since all of the lights together would be rated at 17.12amps and i'd put a 25amp on that load.

You'll probably just need to do what down said, run another relay. Real easy actually even with a Raptor.

Your UPFITTER hot wire will now be your TRIGGER wire for the new relay. Connect the new relay to the battery, the lights to the load and the upfitter's hot trigger wire to the trigger on the relay. Now you're good to go. Throw a 25amp fuse between the relays power wire and the battery of course.


__________________
Adam
Use coupon code RAPTORFORUM at checkout for 10% off eligible items in our store.
FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $99 (within the United States)


LED HEADLIGHTS, FOG LIGHTS, LIGHTBARS, BULBS & MORE
Like us on FaceBook - Follow us on Instagram - www.4x4TruckLEDs.com


4x4TruckLEDs.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Full Access Member

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Age: 29
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
Okay this makes sense. I will do some reading on relays and let you know what I end up doing. The Rigid lights come with their own relays in the wiring harness.
Attached Thumbnails
screen-shot-2018-04-02-4.24.56-pm.png  


__________________
2011 SCREW GEN1 Tuxedo Black

2017 SCAB GEN2 Magnetic

Last edited by raptorwarrior; 04-02-2018 at 04:30 PM.
raptorwarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 04:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
downforce137's Avatar
Full Access Member

 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In Diana
Age: 43
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by raptorwarrior View Post
Okay this makes sense. I will do some reading on relays and let you know what I end up doing. The Rigid lights come with their own relays in the wiring harness.
total overkill on that circuit.. you just need one 25amp fuse/holder and then a relay rated for 25amp or more. you can wire all the lights together and just use a single relay to power them up. Im running 6 d-series cubes on my AUX2 without issues, but Gen1 AUX1 and 2 is rated 20amps

I dont think the Dseries cubes come with a relay.. just a switch. The bigger lights come with relays, such as my 54" RDS

---------- Post added at 03:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:33 PM ----------



something like this, but where the load wire to power up the relay, wire into your upfitter wiring for AUX2
downforce137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 04:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
4x4TruckLEDs.com's Avatar
Supporting Vendor

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
You are not going to use the harness that came with the rigid lights. you are going to basically need to make up your own. You can't daisy chain them btw. So don't wire the positives to the negatives/etc..

All positives togehter, all negatives together as down illustrated.

You can probably re-use one of the wiring harnesses that came with the rigid lights, since the relay is probably a 30/40 relay or at least a 25 amp relay.

Also DO NOT go by the colors down shows... every relay is different. The relays I use have black as the POWER source, so just keep that in mind. I don't know what relays rigid is providing or what you plan to use. The colors should be for reference only... the 85/86/87/30 are the spots though... it's just... black might not be comig out of 85 if it's pre-wired it might be a different color if it's a pre-wired relay.


__________________
Adam
Use coupon code RAPTORFORUM at checkout for 10% off eligible items in our store.
FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $99 (within the United States)


LED HEADLIGHTS, FOG LIGHTS, LIGHTBARS, BULBS & MORE
Like us on FaceBook - Follow us on Instagram - www.4x4TruckLEDs.com


4x4TruckLEDs.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 04:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
downforce137's Avatar
Full Access Member

 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In Diana
Age: 43
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default
Originally Posted by 4x4TruckLEDs.com View Post
You are not going to use the harness that came with the rigid lights. you are going to basically need to make up your own. You can't daisy chain them btw. So don't wire the positives to the negatives/etc..

All positives togehter, all negatives together as down illustrated.

You can probably re-use one of the wiring harnesses that came with the rigid lights, since the relay is probably a 30/40 relay or at least a 25 amp relay.

Also DO NOT go by the colors down shows... every relay is different. The relays I use have black as the POWER source, so just keep that in mind. I don't know what relays rigid is providing or what you plan to use. The colors should be for reference only... the 85/86/87/30 are the spots though... it's just... black might not be comig out of 85 if it's pre-wired it might be a different color if it's a pre-wired relay.
i pretty positive the cubes dont come with a relay harness.. only the bigger lights
downforce137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 05:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Full Access Member

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Age: 29
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

(Thread Starter)
Default
Thanks guys! This makes sense. I redrew my diagram. You are all correct, the D-Series light does not come with a relay.
Attached Thumbnails
screen-shot-2018-04-02-5.26.13-pm.jpg  
downforce137 likes this.


__________________
2011 SCREW GEN1 Tuxedo Black

2017 SCAB GEN2 Magnetic
raptorwarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Tags
add, amp, aux, rigid, switch

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rigid 20" E series $350 Qcfx2 Garage Sale 3 01-26-2016 09:57 PM
4 Rigid Q2 Series or 2 Rigid E Series BajaRick Ford Raptor Lighting Modifications Forum [GEN 1] 2 03-04-2014 11:18 PM
4 in e series by Rigid joekai Ford Raptor Lighting Modifications Forum [GEN 1] 5 09-22-2013 06:05 PM
Rigid Series E Lights trafficman337 Ford Raptor Lighting Modifications Forum [GEN 1] 7 07-19-2013 03:57 PM
Rigid A Series? BIGt0007 Ford Raptor Lighting Modifications Forum [GEN 1] 25 02-20-2013 04:31 PM



GM Truck Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
Dodge Ram Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Tahoe Forum
FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Land Rover Forum
Scion FR-S Forum
TRD Forum
Central US Mopars
Southeast Mopars
Cadillac CTS Forum
Oklahoma Dodge Ram Club
Softball Forum