Engine disintegration update

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
Well unfortunately I was right and the dealer – who thought the truck just needed the PCM (power control module) replaced – was wrong.
12 days after coasting into their service bay they finally decided to pull the oil filter (which I cannot believe they didn't do on the first day, after what I told them I observed) and tell me it has lots of metal in it, including copper (bearings shot)...... after telling me this the service advisor said "now we have to tear into the engine and see what Ford wants to do"…. I can't imagine Ford would want something brand-new overhauled. Obviously I am hoping for a brand-new motor, but I have no experience with having something this new (three months old and 4000 miles) blowup like this… very frustrated to say the least.
Tomorrow I am having it towed to the dealer closer to my house as I don't trust these guys any longer.

Stay tuned

kandewinn

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Look into Lemon Law

Well unfortunately I was right and the dealer – who thought the truck just needed the PCM (power control module) replaced – was wrong.
12 days after coasting into their service bay they finally decided to pull the oil filter (which I cannot believe they didn't do on the first day, after what I told them I observed) and tell me it has lots of metal in it, including copper (bearings shot)...... after telling me this the service advisor said "now we have to tear into the engine and see what Ford wants to do"…. I can't imagine Ford would want something brand-new overhauled. Obviously I am hoping for a brand-new motor, but I have no experience with having something this new (three months old and 4000 miles) blowup like this… very frustrated to say the least.