Rotating the Driveshaft?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Domin0

FRF Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Howdy,

Long story short: Local shop didn’t draw an index mark on the attachment point, and seem to have bolted the driveshaft back on in a different orientation, causing a driveline vibration.

I have no experience working on driveshafts, so I’d like to attempt to tackle this myself and learn something. I’m just unclear on what the process for rotating the driveshaft is? Remove the rear bolts, put it in neutral, twist 90° or 180°, and rebolt? Or does the entire assembly need to be removed and reinserted?

Apologies if this comes off as asinine.

OP
OP
Domin0

Domin0

FRF Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I bet the drive line is not the problem. They are balanced.
Wheels & tires were perfectly balanced, and there weren't any signs of u-joint issues prior to going in. Can't think of any other potential cause.

rschap1

FRF Addict
Reaction score
As mentioned driveshaft should be balanced and orientation (clocking) should not have to be anything specific.
I would look for play in the yoke and/or u-joints if pretty sure driveshaft is the culprit.
Transfer case output and pinion bearing next.

FordTechOne

FRF Addict
Reaction score
Howdy,

Long story short: Local shop didn’t draw an index mark on the attachment point, and seem to have bolted the driveshaft back on in a different orientation, causing a driveline vibration.

I have no experience working on driveshafts, so I’d like to attempt to tackle this myself and learn something. I’m just unclear on what the process for rotating the driveshaft is? Remove the rear bolts, put it in neutral, twist 90° or 180°, and rebolt? Or does the entire assembly need to be removed and reinserted?

Apologies if this comes off as asinine.