DIY Oil Change?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Stingray23

FRF Addict
Reaction score
My Raptor is at right around 3500 miles and the oil percentage reads 24%. I'd like to change the oil myself. I DO NOT trust the dealership, nor do I have the time to drop it off. I feel that with all that clearance, I should be able to do it myself. Now, I've never done this before. What exactly to do I need? Something to put the oil in, filter wrench, oil, oil filter. Anything else I should know? Should I bother putting synthetic oil at this time or keep it OEM?

f150corey

Full Access Member
Reaction score
My Raptor is at right around 3500 miles and the oil percentage reads 24%. I'd like to change the oil myself. I DO NOT trust the dealership, nor do I have the time to drop it off. I feel that with all that clearance, I should be able to do it myself. Now, I've never done this before. What exactly to do I need? Something to put the oil in, filter wrench, oil, oil filter. Anything else I should know? Should I bother putting synthetic oil at this time or keep it OEM?

i have chose to let the dealer do my oil change, and to keep it OEM untill all warrentys have expired. all you need it to blow the engine offroad and they say its because you used the wrong oil or didnt change it. and im not sure why you dont trust them. but if they f it up and blow the engine its on them to put in a new engine/fix the problem. and its more on the mechanic that did the change. they do tend to spill a little oil but they use OEM equipment and put in the right amount regardless

IRONMAN

Reaction score
I've had the dealer change my oil and they only take off the small access door to remove the filter. My skid plates were full of oil and stupid thing drip in my drive way.
I had to remove both skids after to wipe off their mess.