Exedy / Circle D 6r80 Stage 2 Upgrades

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

beefcake

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I posted this info on the Mustand Forums. But thought I would share here as well, as we put the 6r80's through some abuse in these big trucks as well.

Thought I would share a pic of the stage 2 clutch upgrade from Exedy.

We previously tested the stage 1 upgrades from exedy. The stage 1's really are designed to help release heat from the clutches, they aren't really designed for more hp / torque holding capacity. But, if your wearing out the trans on say an n/a or a base boost kit, this could be a nice upgrade.

The stage 1 upgrades are an easier install as well. We were able to do them in house at my crew chiefs shop, Finish Line Performance. Brian was a trans tech by trade for years though, I wouldn't have just anyone rip your trans apart. If they have experience, they should be able to perform the upgrade.

For the stage 2 upgrades, we sent the trans to Kyle @ Circle D transmissions. Exedy provided him with the stage 2 upgrades to install in the transmission.

The stage 2's should be good for abour 40% more holding capacity. To get the extra 40% holding capacity. Machining to the drums needs to be done.

Kyle mentioned he had a 2nd transmission there for testing as well, but he was waiting on parts for it.

When I asked him why, he mentioned some scarring and bearing issues. I told him it sounded like the exact same problem that I had with mine last year.

Here are the pics that he sent me, I can't find mine, but they were pretty much identical.

trans1.jpg

trans2.jpg

trans3.jpg