Help before I buy a toyhauler

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

dirtfan54

Reaction score
Ok I'll make this quick I have a 2013 raptor crew cab and have aftermarket wheels and heavy duty tires along with the aftermarket SDHQ rear long travel airbag setup and I'm looking to buy a 2016 eclipse attitude 281 toyhauler and just wanting people's opinion on if I should be ok to tow it?
Trailer Dry weight is 7280
Axle weight is 6220
Gvwr is 9900
Hitch weight is 1060

Also gonna be putting a Rzr 1000 4 seater in it.

3c08d1c6f0293369c13e5027de87d61a.jpg
edfdcc3e40ad3638cdb72d9cf683a04a.jpg
de516e701c4e719baa0a6da87c45b0f4.jpg

Desertrat83

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Good morning Dirtfan,

I have plenty of experience towing toy haulers, horse trailers and car haulers. Although none with my Raptor. I would suspect you would be fine pulling said trailer with your RZR. I know I wouldn't hesitate. The standard F150 pulls way more that what the Raptor is rated for. During some research I found the drive train is the same across the board except our trucks are wider. My assumption with the lower ratings is that Ford didn't want the liability. I would assume responsibility for towing a larger trailer with your added air bags and stabilizer bars knowing that I need to avoid driving like an ******* with a trailer. Slow and steady will get you to what ever destination your going if you take it easy. I would add a larger trans mission cooler and make sure when climbing hills I would keep the RPM's below 3,500. In some situations that may be really slow but that is where the meat of the torque curve is keeping all of your temps. low. I towed an 18ft toy hauler for three Glamis seasons with a 2005 Tacoma and I was 2000lbs over the rated limit for the truck. I had almost 150k when I traded that truck in and never had an issue. Use your best judgm