Train Horn Relay Woes

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Dane

FRF Addict
Reaction score
Let me start by saying I'm no electrician - I think I understand just enough to be dangerous and accomplish a few things. I also don't know all the fancy names for things, so I'm sorry if I speak laymen here.

My relay for my train horn keeps dying and I don't know why, so I thought I'd ask the expertise here.
Here's how I understand a relay (and I know there are fancy numbers or whatever to call them, but I don't know those, so I'll just explain it as I know it). I have four posts:
  1. Ground
  2. Switching Current
  3. Input Current
  4. Output Current

I have my ground grounded. I have my output running to my train horn solenoid. I have my normal horn spliced into the switching current. I have Aux 3 switch running to the Input current.

The idea is if I have Aux 3 switched to ON, I have a train horn (and a normal horn, but you can't hear it). If it's off, I just have a normal horn - yeah, it throws the relay, but with no power from Aux 3, it does nothing. All make sense?

Here's the issue. The relay dies every so often. It just stops working. I've used a couple different flavors - ones from the parts store, a couple I've bought online, and all seem to die relatively soon (and for some reason ALWAYS at the sand dunes, though that might just be dumb luck).

What am I doing wrong here? It seems pretty simple. This last time I even put that battery terminal protector on my connections (which are all also protected by heat shrink. No dice. The only change I can think of making is reversing the horn/Aux3, but I don't know why that would change things. When it dies, I just bypass the relay by hooking Aux 3 straight up to the solenoid, then I can honk with the Aux 3 if I want, but that's not nearly as much fun.