Help Support Ford Raptor Forum by donating:


Your Raptors Audio System

Discussion in 'Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1]' started by The Car Stereo Company, Sep 5, 2014.

  1. Spyders03

    Spyders03 Member

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    If you add a DSP, you have to add an amplifier (unless you go with the Helix PSIX DSP, a great unit, but you'll still likely want a sub amp). And you can get good speakers so cheap there's no reason not to upgrade them.
     
    NYBlues likes this.
  2. NYBlues

    NYBlues Member

    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Location:
    NY
    Hey Spyders... so the Helix DSP basically has an amp built into it?

    I agree, a separate amp, if it's affordable is preferred and new speakers a simply and cheap upgrade especially over the $8-10 oem factory junk Ford/Sony gives us!
     
  3. madmaxx101

    madmaxx101 Member

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
  4. Spyders03

    Spyders03 Member

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    The Helix PSIX http://www.audiotec-fischer.de/lng/en/p-six-dsp-mk2.html is the one with an amp in it, 6 channels of amplification. I've used and tuned with just about every processor on the market and the Helix, line to me, is the best one out it hands down. I personally use the Helix Pro.

    It never ceases to amaze me how much they charge for the premium sound system, and how terrible they are.
     
  5. JBH

    JBH Member

    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Location:
    Helena, AL
    If I've upgraded to the Kicker VSS powered sub and now want to add a processor and all new speakers can I still use the Kicker as my sub?
     
  6. The Car Stereo Company

    The Car Stereo Company aka nosbusa Supporting Vendor

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    26,124
    Likes Received:
    9,311
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Location:
    here, on frf
    to a certain extent. the powered sub has the amp built in. if the amp can accept low level signal (rca) then you can. however tuning it is a different story. the amp is built in to th sub box and therefore it is the final adjustment before the sub. on most processors, the signal is adjusted at the processor and the amp is there to only amplify the signal. you would now have 2 adjustments and the powered sub creates its own filters that can only be adjusted minimally compared to the processor
     
  7. Spyders03

    Spyders03 Member

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    If the amp has low level input, and he gets a processor, then why not leave the Low Pass Filter at it's highest setting (assuming it can not be bypassed), leave all the amp settings at 0 (which you would do with a stand alone amp anyways) and treat it like any other sub with the processor. I'm not a huge fan of prefab sub/box/amp combos, but it's no different to a processor than any other sub, box, and stand alone amp. The processor has no idea where the amp is mounted.
     
  8. The Car Stereo Company

    The Car Stereo Company aka nosbusa Supporting Vendor

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    26,124
    Likes Received:
    9,311
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Location:
    here, on frf
    because the sub amp in most of these situations already have a low pass filter in place and cant be adjusted except frequency. since the processor has more frequecy adjustments as well as slope, its best to have the amp as a full range signal and let the processor do the adjustments.
     
  9. Hoganjmn

    Hoganjmn Member

    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Hey Nos can you pm your contact info. I'd like to buy some Jl speakers
     
  10. billj214

    billj214 Member

    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Looking to see who is using the PAC AP4-FD21 which replaces the Sony amplifier with its own data bus control and includes 6 channels + optical output option. FYI I found this unit on Amazon for $213 compared to $299 elsewhere. I find this solution more capable then manipulating ACM codes with Forscan and has more functionality/options.

    Pac-Audio.com Product Details | iPod Integration for your car and More by Pac-Audio - Connecting you to the future

    Im following the updates via DIYMA here and will post my own updates after it's installed.
     

Share This Page