Where to get +12v remote turn on wire?

Discussion in 'Ford Raptor Problems and Questions Forum' started by BIRDMAN, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. Hockster

    Hockster My 45ft Bluewater Party Supporting Member

    Age:
    60
    Posts:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Location:
    Winchester, Va
    Yep... That will work... Ummm.. i might use a 14...... What is the draw of the amp? and I would add a inline fuse to your amp
     
  2. IRONMAN

    IRONMAN Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    9,024
    Likes Received:
    2,343
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    MICHIGAN
    Just run it along the door sill and up the dash, but if you want to mess with all the spagetti around the fuses. Have at it. :)
     
  3. jdowens1

    jdowens1 Ford Senior Master Technician

    Posts:
    553
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Montana
    What about feeding it off of the audio module or ignition switch? Are you trying to do the shortest run possible? I was thinking the window power is controlled by the accessory delay relay but the rear window switches are powered by the master window switch.
     
  4. BIRDMAN

    BIRDMAN Birdministrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    12,906
    Likes Received:
    6,102
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    this is only for the remote turn on wire and 16ga is more than sufficient. the remote turn on is just a signal line to the amp that tells the amp to power up. the main power and ground are 8ga with a 30a inline fuse within 18" of the main battery connection. don't worry, i learned my lesson about fuses when i was about 16 and installed my first amp without an inline fuse...the smoke billowing out of my trunk was a clear indication that something wasn't good lol

    ---------- Post added at 12:26 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:26 PM ----------

    this sounds great but how? i need someone to point to a wire and say "this one!"

    ---------- Post added at 12:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:26 PM ----------

    how can i get behind the 12V power plug on the dash? is there an easy way to pop it out and snake a wire down under the dash?
     
  5. IRONMAN

    IRONMAN Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    9,024
    Likes Received:
    2,343
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    MICHIGAN
    Remove your glove box. Just 3 screws I believe and look to your left.
    I think you might be able to reach it that way but I'm not 100% sure. Just trying to go off memory you know I'm 40 so it's getting bad.
    This would be the least complicated way I hope to get at it.
     
  6. BIRDMAN

    BIRDMAN Birdministrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    12,906
    Likes Received:
    6,102
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    and we're sure the front power supply turns on with the ignition on and off when it's off?
     
  7. IRONMAN

    IRONMAN Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    9,024
    Likes Received:
    2,343
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    MICHIGAN
    Plug something in it. I'm not sure cause I never use mine.

    ---------- Post added at 12:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:43 PM ----------

    There is 2 up there I believe. Use the one next to the glove box to it's in reach.
    Let me run outside real quick here.
     
  8. BIRDMAN

    BIRDMAN Birdministrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    12,906
    Likes Received:
    6,102
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    i will sit here on my couch. lmk :ROFLJest:
     
  9. IRONMAN

    IRONMAN Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    9,024
    Likes Received:
    2,343
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    MICHIGAN
    DICK! lol
    OK Just checked and there is constant power to BOTH up front.
    The one next to the glove box can be reached very easily but I know you want/need something that turns on with the ignition so this is out of the question.
     
  10. jdowens1

    jdowens1 Ford Senior Master Technician

    Posts:
    553
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Location:
    Montana
    When you remove the audio module there is a connector in the back that has about 15 wires going to it. there is a grey wire with violet tracer that is going to be hot with the key in start or run position. There is also a blue wire that is the delay accessory wire so you will have 12volts with the key on and running then it will stay powered up when the key is off with the radio and when the radio shuts off so will the amp.
     

Share This Page