Where to get +12v remote turn on wire?

Discussion in 'Ford Raptor Problems and Questions Forum' started by BIRDMAN, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. BIRDMAN

    BIRDMAN Birdministrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    12,906
    Likes Received:
    6,102
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    I need to tap in to get a 12v amp turn on wire when the ignition is switched on. I don't want to use an AUX switch. Any thoughts?
     
  2. IRONMAN

    IRONMAN Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    9,024
    Likes Received:
    2,343
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    MICHIGAN
    you going to run both amps? If not steel it from your other amp/sub.
    If you are running both maybe use a relay and have it triggered by the stock amp but run another power wire from the battery.
     
  3. BIRDMAN

    BIRDMAN Birdministrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    12,906
    Likes Received:
    6,102
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    the stock sub amp(i think) has constant 12v power. i stuck my tester in the harness and it was showing voltage with the truck off :hmm:

    ---------- Post added at 09:31 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:28 AM ----------

    the stock sub amp harness has 5 wires: 12v constant power, ground, 5V remote turn on(not enough for my new amp) and the + / - speaker leads. i stuck my tester in the +12v wire in the harness and it was showing voltage with the truck off.

    my JL amp does have a feature where it will auto turn on when it senses voltage through the speaker leads but they manual recommends using that feature only when absolutely necessary because it's not as reliable as a hard wired 12V remote wire.
     
  4. IRONMAN

    IRONMAN Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    9,024
    Likes Received:
    2,343
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    MICHIGAN
    Hmmmm. Really?
    I would think that would drain the battery but what do I know.
     
  5. Hockster

    Hockster My 45ft Bluewater Party Supporting Member

    Age:
    60
    Posts:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Location:
    Winchester, Va
    What Iron said or what about the rear power supply. Easy to get to and its fused with a 30
     
  6. BIRDMAN

    BIRDMAN Birdministrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    12,906
    Likes Received:
    6,102
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    i responded to your question in a bass-ackwards way. the stock amp does have a remote turn on(therefore it's not "on" when the truck is off) but the stock remote turn on is only 5V and will not be enough to trigger my aftermarket amp.

    ---------- Post added at 09:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:36 AM ----------

    the rear "cigarette lighter"?
     
  7. IRONMAN

    IRONMAN Super Moderator Staff Member

    Posts:
    9,024
    Likes Received:
    2,343
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    MICHIGAN
    The rear cig lighter has constant power. I use it to run my security camera but I use a switch to turn on and off.
     
  8. BIRDMAN

    BIRDMAN Birdministrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    12,906
    Likes Received:
    6,102
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    that's what i thought. did Hock mean something else?
     
  9. Hockster

    Hockster My 45ft Bluewater Party Supporting Member

    Age:
    60
    Posts:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Location:
    Winchester, Va
    Hmm.. Ok.. Thought it was like the front... Well then how about the front power supply... and ya its not a cig lighter and more come bird get with the times!!! ha ha ha ha ha.....
     
  10. BIRDMAN

    BIRDMAN Birdministrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    12,906
    Likes Received:
    6,102
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Location:
    Boston
    how would i gain access to the feed wires to the front power supply? couldn't I just splice in to the fuse with a 16g wire?
     

Share This Page