VHF and Licensing?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

richardhead84

Full Access Member
Reaction score
So I'm new to the whole VHF radio thing well any type of radio for that matter. Do you have to get a HAM radio license to use them in your truck? I would be mainly using it for raptor runs. If a license is required and you dont have one can they even find you and what would be the penalties.

Icecobra

FRF Addict
Reaction score
On runs typically you use unlicensed channels.. They belong to someone else or are not registered. In these cases having a ham license is no benefit as you are violating FCC rules broadcast on those channels.. Your suppose to at least get the basic license to broadcast on ham channels however I have never heard of anyone getting stopped by anyone for broadcasting on channels without a license. I am not saying its ok and would recommend getting a license at your earliest convenience.

Goofball

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Can someone dumb these radios down for me? Why do you need radios like these on runs? Do walkie talkies not work? Cell phones? Also I have a lot walkie talkies at work. Could I use a radio hard wired in my truck to talk to my people on a big construction site? Whats my best option?

---------- Post added at 03:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:57 PM ----------

And why the licensing? is it the same radios that emergency responders communicate on?

Icecobra

FRF Addict
Reaction score