Help Support Ford Raptor Forum by donating:


GEN 2 Upfitter Switches

Discussion in 'Ford Raptor Problems and Questions Forum' started by gopher870, May 3, 2020.

  1. gopher870

    gopher870 Member

    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Location:
    Utopia
    I installed lights on Upfitter Switch #4.. The lights worked for a few minutes then blew the 10a fuse in position 80. Switched fuse to a new one and lights still do not work. Checked wiring and all is solid. What am I missing. Where else should I look????
     
  2. Traffic22

    Traffic22 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    276
    Likes Received:
    163
    Joined:
    May 3, 2020
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Wondering if you figured out what happened or got an answer? I’m doing my fogs this week and just want to know if there is something I should be keeping an eye on.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  3. gopher870

    gopher870 Member

    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Location:
    Utopia
    unfortunately not. Upfitter #4 has a good fuse but is not working. No power coming to the wire. There is a fault somewhere else but I just dont know where to look. I have a recall; might just have to take her to the dealer and see what they say......
     
  4. Traffic22

    Traffic22 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    276
    Likes Received:
    163
    Joined:
    May 3, 2020
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Sorry you can't find the problem, that does seem strange. Please let me know what the dealer says. I'll let you know if I run into any issues or stumble across a solution when I'm doing my fogs next week. Hope they figure it out for you soon.
     
  5. TRMFAM

    TRMFAM Full Access Member

    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    76
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2020
    Location:
    Bartlesville, OK
    What light kit did you install?
    Did it have a factory wiring harness, aftermarket?
    Does the harness have a fuse inline or a relay?
    Double check your ground?
    Does the light on the switch itself in the cab work?
    Do all the other switches light up? Anything else wired in on another switch?

    Do you have a test light? I have not tried this but I imagine you can ground your test light and probe the upfitter switch wire.

    Also, you might repost or ask a mod to move this to the lighting category...might get more expert advice.
     
    JefferyGT, Traffic22 and gopher870 like this.
  6. gopher870

    gopher870 Member

    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Location:
    Utopia
    ALL excellent advice; thank you.
     
  7. zombiekiller

    zombiekiller EXO Crewmember

    Posts:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    2,331
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    Location:
    New Orleans
    what is the amperage draw from the lights? 10A can pretty much handle a pair of BD squadrons and not really much more.

    Are you using a relay?

    Wired directly to the upfitter switch?

    And singed wires?

    Is your wiring a consistent thickness or does it change?
     
  8. TRMFAM

    TRMFAM Full Access Member

    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    76
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2020
    Location:
    Bartlesville, OK
    Gopher, I think we can get this figured out...just need some more information to help.
     
  9. gopher870

    gopher870 Member

    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Location:
    Utopia
    I had Baja Design Racers (2.9x2 Amps) and S2 Pros (1.7x2 Amps) for a total 9.2. Yes, too close for my liking but I'm running out of switches. The lights work fine on other upfitter switches. I did not use a relay (as I should of) and wired directly to the wire. I used the 4x4Leds.com supplied harnesses without inline fuses. The upfitter switch #4 does still light up as do all of the rest with working lights. I used a volt meter and there is no voltage coming to the #4 wire. It is something to do with the truck and upfitter switch #4 circuit. I have replaced the #80 fuse with multiple fuses just to make sure I did not have a bad fuse I could not visually tell was blown.
     
  10. Sheeepdog18

    Sheeepdog18 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    231
    Likes Received:
    122
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Location:
    Bay Area
    If you have power going into the switch ( you said the light is on for the switch) that mean you have no problems from the battery to fuse box to the switch, do you have power coming out of the switch? If you don’t then your switch is bad, if you do, then check from the switch to the end of the wire to see if you got continuity.
     

Share This Page