Help Support Ford Raptor Forum by donating:


Tune Detection - Ford Dealer

Discussion in 'Ford Raptor Engine Discussion and Performance Mods' started by Donovan, Oct 9, 2019 at 9:58 AM.

  1. Donovan

    Donovan Full Access Member

    Posts:
    285
    Likes Received:
    52
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2019
    Location:
    DC
    Good lord.

    Ok, just crossing toes. I'm going to call ford now for an appointment.
     
  2. goblues38

    goblues38 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    894
    Likes Received:
    747
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Location:
    STL
    Just know......

    there are no amount of "drive cycles" that will cover your tracks. The time stamp I described above is going to be hard coded into the CMOS. You can't get around it. They will know you messed with the program, they just wont know what you did.

    But the simple fact you messed with it, could be enough to get you denied, if...as others said....they chose to be dicks about it.

    Just making sure you were prepared, so you don't get caught in a lie.
     
    19PANDA likes this.
  3. xgardx

    xgardx Full Access Member

    Posts:
    103
    Likes Received:
    40
    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Location:
    CLE OH
    would the excuse of you used ForScan or another OBD II reader to reset some Trouble codes be suffice not? Or is it a harder reset / time stamp event when removing a tune from the truck?
     
  4. goblues38

    goblues38 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    894
    Likes Received:
    747
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Location:
    STL
    I honestly do not know the answer to that. Sorry.

    Think of tweaking forescan as change parameters to the program. A tune replace the entire program.

    But will be the 1st to admit I dont know for sure.
     
  5. Donovan

    Donovan Full Access Member

    Posts:
    285
    Likes Received:
    52
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2019
    Location:
    DC
    I’m definitely hoping that this thread grows... I drop the vehicle off on Monday evening
     
  6. VelociRap

    VelociRap Member

    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2019
    Location:
    Texas
    I wonder if the reason for “permanently disabling” the stop/start stupid system will fly, that’s the most annoying system to put on such a beast.
     
  7. xgardx

    xgardx Full Access Member

    Posts:
    103
    Likes Received:
    40
    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Location:
    CLE OH
    it’s has been a while since I’ve done it, but I could swear when I last used forscan to reset a DtC I saw something on that screen that a line item stating “ # of ignition cycles” which was then reset to 0 ( along with a list of other things it was tracking) once it cleared and reset any of the DTCs. But agin, not 100% sure.
     
  8. WHYUMAD

    WHYUMAD Full Access Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    710
    Likes Received:
    217
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    COULD you claim ignorance & say it must’ve been a glitch in the system... meaning “No, I didn’t do anything & I don’t know what you’re talking about”. Things glitch all the time on these trucks sooo... worth a shot.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. Donovan

    Donovan Full Access Member

    Posts:
    285
    Likes Received:
    52
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2019
    Location:
    DC
    OR, I just bought the truck and how am I suppos to know if its tuned or not. I did not buy my truck from Ford anyways...

    Plus I have an aftermarket warranty up to 75k anyways incase they want to act like a sack of shit. It is bumper to le' bumps.
     

Share This Page