Help Support Ford Raptor Forum by donating:


GEN 1 Tpms sensors in New wheels won't program

Discussion in 'Ford Raptor Problems and Questions Forum' started by fordfreek, Mar 31, 2020.

  1. MTF

    MTF FRF Addict

    Posts:
    4,388
    Likes Received:
    1,271
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    The OEM setting is 40 psi.

    If yours is only warning you when it's down to 35, then you have a Tune on it and it's set to 35 psi.
    That's assuming your tire pressure gauge is accurate.
    I use a bicycle gauge that goes from 0 to 50 psi.
    I have about six others, all types and all give me different readings by up to 5 psi.

    I have mine set to 30 psi. since I run 38 front and 34 rear.
    I would like to run lower but I tend to drive too aggressively most of the time. LOL
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2020
  2. EricM

    EricM FRF Addict

    Posts:
    2,040
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ran into the same thing years ago. Was comparing a bunch of cheap gagues and they all sucked. I bought one good Longacre tire pressure gauge. Everything gets compared to that to see if it's worth keeping. Some of the pencil types were right on, some went in the trash. Confirmed my JNC jump box with built in compressor has a gauge that is accurate.
     
  3. j2k

    j2k Full Access Member

    Posts:
    82
    Likes Received:
    114
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Location:
    Belleair Beach, FL
    I ran into the same problem a few years ago when I put on aftermarket wheels. I was able to delete the TPMS using forscan thanks to information provided by @livinitup.
    https://forscan.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=4111&p=14880#p14880

    There's a forscan tutorial thread on FRF that will give you all of the other info you need if you decide to go this route.
     
  4. fordfreek

    fordfreek Member

    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Location:
    L'Anse, MI
    Well it's probably the gage I have being inaccurate then,because I generally run 38-40 in front and 36-38 rear. No tune . Owned the truck since new. Really don't wanna disable the system,strictly for resale purposes, but I'm not ruling it out. I appreciate all the input. This forum is an awesome place for information . A friend of mine used forscan on his ford van to disable the tpms. I'll check further into it with him.
     
  5. richnot

    richnot Full Access Member

    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    49
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2019
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    I`ve had similar problems with a different vehicle. Dealership was a joke because they refused to use my VIN to verify the sensors I bought from them. They made several attempts to program with no avail. I went online and verified that I bought the right sensors and found that other people were going to high end wheel/tire shops or places like 4WD parts to get them set up correctly. I went to OK 4wd here in NJ and they had the right tool/scanner to do the job correctly. It was worth the $30.00 plus a big tip, considering two trips to the dealer and they couldn't care less
    You mentioned you were getting new tires, talk to the tire guys and see who can do it for you, heck even call Tire Rack to see what they have to say
     
  6. EricM

    EricM FRF Addict

    Posts:
    2,040
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Why? You worried about getting sued or something? You can turn it back on you know.

    Even if the light was on at the time it came to trade it in- no dealer in the world would turn away a F150 Raptor trade in because the TPMS light was on. They know they can fix that easy and cheap.
     
  7. fordfreek

    fordfreek Member

    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Location:
    L'Anse, MI
    I'll talk with the tire shop when I get the tires mounted. It's not a big deal to me that it works, I just figured it would be a simple thing to do. The system actually saved my wife from destroying a tire one day when she had a tire go flat while driving down the highway . I don't own a laptop, so forscan is out. I'll deal with it when I get a few days off. With all this covid 19 stuff going on, I'll be lucky to get my tires mounted any time soon.
     
  8. Retriever

    Retriever Member

    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Location:
    Iowa
    One thing you could try is having a tire shop break the bead on one side of one of the oem tires and pull the sensor out so you could get the part numbers off of it and buy like replacements for your summer tires.
     

Share This Page