The right way to install GEN 2 Shocks on a GEN 1!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Doug Mikra

Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

I have a 2012 SCREW and like many I've been seriously disappointed with the Factory 2.5" shocks. Even with reputable rebuilds the shocks would lose oil after only ~20K miles or so. I seriously considered doing a set of 3.0's from King or Fox last year, but I daily the truck 80% of the time and the bypass noise can be a bit much for every day use. OE Gen 2 shocks were appealing but the fronts wouldn't work for the 20% of the time I take my truck off-road. And the $6,000 price tag was a bit steep.

With that said I'm a machinist by trade and I worked with a shock engineer to develop a retrofit kit that adapts the Gen 2 OE style 3.0" front strut to properly fit the Gen 1 Raptor. We designed several all-new components that ultimately got us a set of 3.0" shocks that fit the Gen 1 platform, have a Mid-Perch height configuration, AND optimized the internal bypass port locations for the Gen 1. All-aluminum construction means zero corrosion as well.

I've run these shocks for 3 months now and the performance is truly night and day. All around, including hitting the trails and the starbucks drive through, I can honestly say it is the best Gen 1 I have been in to date. While the aftermarket kits are better in many areas, the bypass noise and short service intervals were a bit much for my daily driver. Best of all, I sourced brand-new donors from the dealer and have less than $2,000 into the full vehicle setup. With take-offs I bet you could make a bulletproof set of shocks for less than $1000.