Suggestions on ways to increase performance

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

HawkeyeRaptor1

Reaction score
Hello all, I am a newbie here and just ordered my first Raptor last week. I ordered a 2013 screw, as I find they are referred to as here. I have been reading through many of the current and past posts and just need some information dumbed down for someone that is not experienced in modifying vehicles, other than sound systems in my younger days.

What are the best ways to increase the performance, and economy if possible, of my Raptor (I understand the economy is directly related to my right foot). I am not interested in a supercharger, I considered the Roush raptor, but I felt it was a little overpriced for what you got and I really don't need 600hp. I have gathered that CAI, Tuning, headers, and exhaust upgrades seem to be the most common options. Is there any "tuning" required or adjustments needed to be made to the factory system when any of the mods are made? Are there particular combinations that seem to work better than others in regards to type/brand of mods that provide the best bang for the buck? I am willing to pay the $$$ if there are measurable results.

In regards to the exhaust mod, I am not looking for something that will be obnoxiously loud in the cab as this truck will by my daily driver, although there is nothing wrong with an exhaust that is "throaty" and sounds bad A*s. I apologize for the long post but would really appreciate any assistance or guidance.

Wilson

FRF Addict
Reaction score
I like all my mods so far. check peoples mod list and you will get the just of what your looking for. most are in the signature. aFe CAI, SW headers cat back, diablo tune.