Rearview mirror camera

Discussion in 'Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 1]' started by daddycreswell, Jan 9, 2019.

  1. daddycreswell

    daddycreswell FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    310
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    Lebanon Tennessee
    I'm going to install some type of double din radio in the near future. Tired of the little no gps system I have now. Can I hook up the mirror rearview camera up to the new radio? If so what's the easiest way to go about that? Thanks in advance....

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
     
  2. daddycreswell

    daddycreswell FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    310
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    Lebanon Tennessee
    This site blows now a days, guess no one drives the Gen 1 anymore.
     
  3. EricM

    EricM FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    713
    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    OEM cameras are data based. AFAIK, you cannot feed that directly to an aftermarket HU. They use analog, not digital.
     
  4. daddycreswell

    daddycreswell FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    310
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    Lebanon Tennessee
    Found this item this morning that takes care of the problem, it makes it work in the mirror and on an aftermarket radio or if you have upgraded to an OEM radio. This is what I'll be using, they also tell you how to do it without the harness.

    Here is the link
    https://www.infotainment.com/blogs/...iew-camera-image-from-mirror-to-radio-reroute
     
    donh likes this.
  5. Anthony k

    Anthony k Full Access Member

    Posts:
    95
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Location:
    Michigan
    It’s easy.
    Site isn’t shit, your patience is. You post in the middle of the night and get all pissy in the early morning? Settle down Francis

    Tap into the wires in the drivers footwell. Real easy

    Your link is the expensive way.

    I took a used RCA cable, cut and splice.
     
    donh likes this.
  6. daddycreswell

    daddycreswell FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    310
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    Lebanon Tennessee
    Wasn't the middle of the night where I live. And I stated in my post that there were instructions in the link to do it without the harness. I like to do things that are simple, like plug and play. Not wires that run here and there. To each their own.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page