Rear Suspension Question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MDJAK

FRF Addict
Reaction score
I've watched videos up the w a z o o of the Gen3 rear suspension. It looks actually similar to my Can Am Maverick X3 RC with the long arms that come back from the chassis on both sides and that go up and down. (You pickin' up what I'm puttin' down?)

I'm not technically versed on this stuff but I think you know what I mean.

Obviously it also has coil springs and no more leafs. Y'all know that unless you been living under my -- err, I mean under a rock.

Now we on a Raptor forum so most are not Dodge Ram fanboys, but I think it's been widely acknowledged that the Ram has a superior ride to at least the Gen2 on road. Yet the Ram does not have those long arms to each wheel.

Explain to me the advantage. And for those Gen3 owners who have owned Gen2, how much better, meaning more compliant, meaning more comfortable is the ride on road?

Thank you.

1roadking

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Going from a G2 to a G3 I’d say the ride is at least twice to 3 times as good. It’s much smoother and way more stable on bumpy roads in turns. The 5 link with arms eliminates axle hop and puts the power to the ground much better.

OP
OP
MDJAK

MDJAK

FRF Addict
Reaction score
Going from a G2 to a G3 I’d say the ride is at least twice to 3 times as good. It’s much smoother and way more stable on bumpy roads in turns. The 5 link with arms eliminates axle hop and puts the power to the ground much better.
Exactly what I was hoping to hear. Ty.

fts

Reaction score
Disclaimer: I do not know much about G1 or G2 suspension configuration, other than they use leaf springs. I don't have first-hand experience either, so all that is below theory and vaporware.