Rear spring bolt

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Gumby

FRF Addict
Reaction score
My rear axel housing is rolling forward and back causing the driveshaft to rub. ( at the pinion) I am going to try to tighten the bolts see if that helps there is a gap between the spring perch block and the axel housing block. the truck is new to me and I am new to raptor but I know enough that it is not right. The local parts store says it will take a week to get new bolts. is this a known problem? 2014 gen 1 Roush.

Gen1TillDeath

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First, pics would help. Second, are you talking about the leaf block that sits under the leaf spring ? That should definitely be sitting flush, there are circular stubs that stick out from under the block and recess into the axle. I think the U bolt torque specs on those bolts are 120ft. Lbs. hope I’m understanding you correctly

OP
OP
Gumby

Gumby

FRF Addict
Reaction score
You are.... Here are some before pics. could the bolts have stretched?

first pic is the where the drive shaft has been wearing on the pinion coupler.

Attachments

• IMG_2570.jpeg
    IMG_2570.jpeg
    186.6 KB · Views: 37
  • IMG_2571.jpeg
    IMG_2571.jpeg
    190.7 KB · Views: 37
  • IMG_2572.jpeg
    IMG_2572.jpeg
    105.2 KB · Views: 39

Gen1TillDeath

Full Access Member
Reaction score
My suggestion is to jack up the truck by the frame and support if with stands, put a jack under the rear diff so its suspended, loosen the U bolts and make sure the lift blocks are seated fully and then re- torque everything.

OP
OP
Gumby

Gumby

FRF Addict
Reaction score