Premium Unleaded?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

sgsraptor

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have owned a couple turbo cars in the past and have always run premium gas. (Evo/STI).

Just got my confirmed build date for my 2017 Raptor, and got to thinking I will be running premium gas on the 3.5 Ecoboost. I have looked around to see what people run in the 3.5 ecoboost motors and see conflicting info on using premium and regular unleaded. In the end I will end up running premium, but I am just curious.

Thoughts?

A2Raptor

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I was always under the impression that the turbo 3.5 ecoboost gets more power out of premium 93 rather than 87 octane. I used to run 93 in my Stock Taurus SHO and it was fine.

However I'm just a layman and not an engineer or scientist so it could all just be scam by the gas station to make more money.

But yeah I also had an STi and using 87 vs 93 or even 91 for that matter made a big difference.

I'm gonna go with whatever is the minimum recommend by Ford for awhile. After I get my Livernois tune I'm pretty sure I will need 93.

I always wondered this as well...

hkguns

FRF Addict
Reaction score
I was always under the impression that the turbo 3.5 ecoboost gets more power out of premium 93 rather than 87 octane. I used to run 93 in my Stock Taurus SHO and it was fine.

However I'm just a layman and not an engineer or scientist so it could all just be scam by the gas station to make more money.

But yeah I also had an STi and using 87 vs 93 or even 91 for that matter made a big difference.

I'm gonna go with whatever is the minimum recommend by Ford for awhile. After I get my Livernois tune I'm pretty sure I will need 93.

I always wondered this as well...