Help Support Ford Raptor Forum by donating:


GEN 2 phoenix automotive PX6 Help

Discussion in 'Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 2]' started by joeyaoyp, Jul 19, 2020.

  1. nikhsub1

    nikhsub1 FRF Addict

    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    1,533
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    I think that is the right cable - and it must be a cable issue because I have the same thing going as you guys, and I NEVER have an issue with sync or the camera blacking out or losing connection.
     
  2. melvimbe

    melvimbe FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,723
    Likes Received:
    1,293
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2020
  3. lateralis

    lateralis Full Access Member

    Posts:
    284
    Likes Received:
    145
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Location:
    New York
    Ok, so looking at the center of the connector you see the + with the 4 holes? just out side that there are 4 metal tabs in a ring around it. Slightly bend those in. Not a lot just enough to make it look not like a perfect circle. This will put pressure on the Sync side connector and also giving you a better connection.

    I agree. I think the connectors that they are using aren't the best and that's the issue.

    Those look correct but I think the long cable in the amazon link are using similar connectors as the ones we got from Phoenix. The one from rfsupplier looks like it has good connectors on it. What I'm looking at is where the pins go in. More surface area in those pin holes to make contact = better. We need a cable about 6" long if you plan on getting a replacement.
     
  4. lateralis

    lateralis Full Access Member

    Posts:
    284
    Likes Received:
    145
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Location:
    New York
    Quick paint edit. Push in on the things that the red arrows are on @melvimbe

    20200915_114029.jpg
     
  5. melvimbe

    melvimbe FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,723
    Likes Received:
    1,293
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Yes, after seeing other pictures of the device, it's easier to see what you meant. Initially, I thought they the four metal pieces were flat...like the connection for a AA batteries, if that makes sense. Other angles show they are not flat, and I can see how they could bend into the center.


    [QUOTE="lateralis, post: 1536550, member: 35325"
    Those look correct but I think the long cable in the amazon link are using similar connectors as the ones we got from Phoenix. The one from rfsupplier looks like it has good connectors on it. What I'm looking at is where the pins go in. More surface area in those pin holes to make contact = better. We need a cable about 6" long if you plan on getting a replacement.[/QUOTE]

    That makes sense. I still have the original cable, so it might be worth a bit of comparing for differences. Ideally, it would be good if you could get the wire and harness/heads separately. It looks rather simple over all, just a coax cable with 4 pins instead of 1.
     
  6. melvimbe

    melvimbe FRF Addict

    Posts:
    1,723
    Likes Received:
    1,293
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    So I played around with this a bit last night. The cable connection is definitely the issue and I have it fixed, at least temporarily. I was hesitant to press the tabs much, partially because it seemed rather fragile and patially because I don't really have a tool small enough. I tried a sewing needle, but even that seems a bit too large and not strong enough.

    The screen seems to be about 95% more stable now. It's working perfectly, and drove around the block a few times without issue. I did notice a flicker here and there once I parked though. I think I will go ahead and order a replacement cable, despite the shipping delay, to try it out or modify if this doesn't work long term.
     
    lateralis likes this.

Share This Page