Help Support Ford Raptor Forum by donating:


Phoenix Android Radio 4th Gen PX6

Discussion in 'Ford Raptor Audio/Video/Electronics Forum [GEN 2]' started by Guy, Jul 17, 2019.

  1. melvimbe

    melvimbe Full Access Member

    Posts:
    225
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Location:
    Houston, TX

    It's going to be a tremendous help. As you pointed out, Index is useless and the apps listing function on the PX6 is about as bad as it could be. Not only will this make it a lot easier to get to different apps, but making the locked in apps at the top a little less annoying.

    I just went through your videos. Like you, my household is Alexa, so having Alexa in the car adds a lot of value, not just for music but in controlling various things in the home. I thought your use of Echo Auto was interesting. Now that you've got the mics on the PX6 working, are you still planning on using the Echo Auto. The issue I see with that is that it's working through SYNC and your phone. It's good if you don't have WiFi in the truck (I have the Spark as well) and because the PX6 doesn't cut that audio off when the cameras are engaged. It's bad though in the sense that your getting bluetooth sound quality, and not leveraging the HD content Amazon recently introduced.

    Ideally, I want Alexa to always be on. Second to that, I'd want it on whenever I have the Alexa or Amazon music apps open. I'll be playing around with that soon.
     
  2. melvimbe

    melvimbe Full Access Member

    Posts:
    225
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Location:
    Houston, TX

    I'm assuming these canbus boxes can't just be added/replaced on existing PX6 units, correct? Are they the metal boxes that are attached to the back of the tablet? If this all tests out and the new canbus become available, I'd imagine you have to buy a new PX6 to get it. Or am I completely wrong about this.
     
  3. Raptor18Actual

    Raptor18Actual Full Access Member

    Posts:
    157
    Likes Received:
    111
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    The "metal box" you're thinking of, that the Sync APIM screws to, is just the hardware to run the screen. The CANBUS box from Phoenix is just the small red plastic box is my understanding.
     
  4. melvimbe

    melvimbe Full Access Member

    Posts:
    225
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Location:
    Houston, TX

    If that's the case, then I'll be request the new update ASAP.

    Very good day for this thread, may have solved 2 of my biggest issues.
     
  5. amp

    amp Member

    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Location:
    TX
    Yes, the canbus box the small red translucent plastic box, and you shouldn't have to reset the system after changing it out. I'm not sure how they plan to roll out the new boxes to folks, but it's worth a phone call to them to figure out how to get one.

    Also there was a software update that allowed you to long press the top menu icons and drag them around to put them in a different order. I would ask them about that too.
     
  6. melvimbe

    melvimbe Full Access Member

    Posts:
    225
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Location:
    Houston, TX

    I'll contact them about the canbus for sure. I really don't want to apply updates unless it's known to fix a specific problem I need fixed. There's been plenty in this thread who have applied patches and ended up worse off then when they started.
     
  7. Gtibbot

    Gtibbot Member

    Posts:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Location:
    Richmond, IN USA
    At this point the Echo Auto is going to be used as a backup with the Sync unit. I found a second Amazon widget that I prefer:


    Screenshot_20191009-161243.png


    Screenshot_20191009-161218.png

    This widget has track control (yes, works with the steering wheel controls), and has the Alexa button for quick access. When the Alexa button is pressed, you get the familiar Alexa sound and a screen that prompts you to say something.

    So for it has worked flawless when requesting a song title or artist. I have several home automation devices that I control with Alexa, switches, plugs, garage door, etc. and they also work.

    Keep in mind that Nova is a full fledged launcher, it will start up immediately, but the widgets take about 30 seconds to load.

    My only problem so far, at times you will get no sound from the PX6 amp without going to the SNYC amp 1st. I might load Tasker with Autoinput so that a startup, it simulates pressing the "Console" icon and then the "Home" icon.

    G.T.
     
  8. melvimbe

    melvimbe Full Access Member

    Posts:
    225
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Will definitely be using that widget. Probably won't find a way for Alexa to be listening without having to press the Alexa button, but worth looking into. I considered, using an actual echo, or echo input in the car for this, but I don't think it will work the way I want it to. Alexa groups could help, but I doubt it will allow an echo to dock the tablets audio or auto playback on the tablet.

    That's close to how long it takes the Amazon app to load.

    Yes, I get that too. And going to Sync temporarily triggers that. I find that I don't get the issue if I stay out of console entirely though.
     
  9. melvimbe

    melvimbe Full Access Member

    Posts:
    225
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Just wanted to add that Nova Launcher makes a huge improvement on the usefulness of the tablet. Night and day. There is no reason not to install it. It allows you to setup the screen pretty much the way you would on your phone, with bigger fonts. Now if I could just remove the top bar entirely...

    Removing the TXZ Speech to Text app was just about as helpful, opening up voice commands for Google and Alexa.

    Big thanks to @Gtibbot.
     
    Gopherboy128 and claustin like this.
  10. Laynrockers07

    Laynrockers07 Member

    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2019
    Location:
    Las vegas
    Can someone post a video running apple car play with the new IOS update? Would love to see if it uses full screen. Thanks
     

Share This Page