New member with transmission issues

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

kennymog

Reaction score
Hey Guys, this is my first time posting on any forum so I apologize in advance if this is in the wrong place.

I need some help/ advice as to what the hell is going on with my truck?

It is a 2010 Raptor with the 6.2L

Issues: After being plagued with harsh shirting for a couple of years I finally tried to do everything possible to fix it. Its the only thing I've hated on this truck. Problems are harsh downshifting when coming to a stop (more of a bang than a clunk/sometimes a little bit of both) and same when accelerating out of first into second. Ive tried the slip yoke white grease from ford with zero success. I then went a little crazy with ordering a new drive shaft from axle exchange, new valve body from ford with the lead frame and solenoids, bulk head connector and thermo-bridge seal, and a 93 street tune from 5 star tuning. I also upgraded to the deaver +2 springs.

Here is where things start to get real interesting.

After installing all of the listed above and a bunch of other misc. parts not related to the transmission. I loaded in the tune and before you know it the problem was still there (even after 500 miles of driving). The new valve body from Ford came with paperwork with a valve shift strategy code and sticker that I put on the bell housing. It mentioned that a Ford tech needs to program the shift strategy code with PCM yada yada yada. Me thinking that the 5 star tune would kind of take care of that didn't happen (my fault). So i called 5 star and explained to them what was happening, I was told to re flash back to stock tune and bring to ford dealer to have the shift strategy programmed.