Help Support Ford Raptor Forum by donating:


Need Help ASAP!!

Discussion in 'Raptor Retrofit' started by Boss Hoss, Nov 1, 2013.

  1. Boss Hoss

    Boss Hoss FRF Addict

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    734
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    Colleyville, Texas
    If anyone knows Dawsons number please pm me. Am in Colorado and am having big time problems with my lights again. Have 600 miles to go with no low beams... Dawson please check your pm.
     
  2. Chris@FreedomMotorsports

    [email protected] FRF Gofur Supporting Vendor Supporting Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    3,006
    Likes Received:
    2,497
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Location:
    Woodlawn, Virginia
    What are the lights doing?
     
  3. NickPic83

    NickPic83 FRF Addict

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    9,641
    Likes Received:
    2,434
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Location:
    Rockland County NY
    Did u check the connection from the harness to the stock wiring. Push those plugs together tightly. Moromito plugs can separate a not from the OEM plug. I taped the plugs together very tightly.

    Wait u say no low beams...so the turn on with the high beams only?

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  4. Boss Hoss

    Boss Hoss FRF Addict

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    734
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    Colleyville, Texas
    Low beams will not fire have to flash highs then go to low. Lows only stay on for a few minutes then go off. Hit high besms again they work then flash to low. Low will not stay on for more than a few minutes thengo off.

    After a few times the lows will not come on only the highs. Cannot drive with 50 watt highs on the interstate.
     
  5. Squatting Dog

    Squatting Dog FRF Addict

    Posts:
    8,616
    Likes Received:
    4,103
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I have had the same thing happen to mine.. Since Dawson will most likely send a new harness and control module. You can make an emergency bypass by cutting the harness at the controller and hardwiring it.. As soon as I get home I will dig out my notes.

    -Greg (aka squatting dog)
     
  6. Chris@FreedomMotorsports

    [email protected] FRF Gofur Supporting Vendor Supporting Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    3,006
    Likes Received:
    2,497
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Location:
    Woodlawn, Virginia
    That actually sounds like a bad ground. Mine did the same thing upon installation and I had to sand down my grounding point to bare metal before they operated properly.

    As for the wiring plugs, mine didn't like staying seated properly either so I hit the leads with dielectric grease, reinserted them into the plugs to ensure they were fully seated, plugged them in, zip tied the plugs together and then wrapped everything extremely tight with electrical tape. I did this in an attempt to keep the wires from possibly pulling loose and to make sure the plugs themselves didn't separate with movement. Haven't had an issue since then.
     
    NickPic83 likes this.
  7. Wilson

    Wilson FRF Addict

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    26,060
    Likes Received:
    9,987
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Location:
    South Dakota
    it's not illegal to leave your high beams on how ever you wouldn't want to be drunk or stoned. Guaranteed to be pulled over and asked why you are not dimming...
     
  8. Squatting Dog

    Squatting Dog FRF Addict

    Posts:
    8,616
    Likes Received:
    4,103
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I agree with checking the grounds and all connections. FIRST! Most if not all problems come from that..

    If not any of the above, the next most common point of failure is the module.. After 3 revisions of this module with Dawson, so far no more issues.



    -Greg (aka squatting dog)
     
  9. hosseface

    hosseface Full Access Member

    Posts:
    959
    Likes Received:
    310
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Location:
    Work
    The harness/relay is a known weak point for our hid retrofits. I have personally had 3 bad ones. When I first got into HIDs, my initial harness was bad right out of the box and being unfamiliar with the workings at that time I liked to have never figured out what was wrong.

    Thats my guess. Gonna need a test light to do any sort of pinpoint diagnostics on them.

    Morimoto is the "best" of what is out there but I for one would pay $300 for a real, durable, weatherproof reliable harness. They just dont make them. The harness is the weakest link for any retrofit.

    Hey...maybe I should look into making a reliable harness.

    I tell you what wouldnt be a bad idea...to make some sort of emergency use only backup harness that would fire low beams only.

    ---------- Post added at 08:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:59 PM ----------

    I have OEM hids so I dont know about Dawsons but why couldn't you turn your high beams on and then turn your low beams on....unplug the connector for the projectors (and leave it unplugged) and then turn your high beams back on. Should get you home..your relay would think it was high beams but your projector would be stuck on low beam.
     
    Wilson and [email protected] like this.
  10. Boss Hoss

    Boss Hoss FRF Addict

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    734
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    Colleyville, Texas
    Thanks for the replies!! This is a tough one to do but adjusted the headlights down as far as they would go to get me home. Stockers going back in next week. Second time these have failed and this time a long way from home.
     

Share This Page