Misconceptions about fuel and power

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
Having owned 5 Raptors since 2010 and being a chemical Engineer, I have to "speak out" a little about some of the BS floating around about fuel types, etc. All my comments are 100% fact checked and based upon 40+yrs experience in the petroleum industry:

1. Both 87 and 93 octane fuels (basic/non-premium contain 10% ethanol unless it is specifically noted). The 93 Octane is better for the Gen 2/3 Raptors because it is a slowing igniting fuel compared to 87 octane and better for the higher compression, turbo-charged engines.
2. Ethanol-Free fuels (typically 90 octane) are better for engines BUT WORSE FOR INJECTORS. Ethanol free fuels will not absorb moisture and running water through an XDI (or whatever brand of injector you may have) injector will cause deposits on the injector and decrease HP performance. This has been proven many times over. Ethanol fuels absorb the water/moisture and reduce (not eliminate) deposits on injectors.
3. Ford will replace your injectors at a cost of $1600+ which YOU SHOULD NOT DO. Get the injectors taken out and have them professionally cleaned and tested. The fuel injector additives at NAPA, etc are a waste of money and do not clean nor work because they are chemically based and these products contact the injector for micro-seconds (no time to react and clean). The theory that they work is a joke. You can send injectors to injectorrx.com and get them cleaned and re-tested for $25/injector so you can get your V-6 injectors cleaned for less than $200 vs $1600 for new. Bottom line - a twin-turbo V6 high compression engine will need its injectors cleaned IF you want to maintain full hp (for $200 I do it because why spend all that money and have non-optimal engine performance?)