Lighting controls

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

melvimbe

FRF Addict
Reaction score
I have more of a curiosity question. Many of the LEDs I use in my home have two options that I have not seen on any exterior lights for the raptor or any vehicle for that matter.

- control the brightness (dimming)
- control the color

Is there a specific reason for that? Does the strength of automotive lights not really allow for this level of control? Or perhaps driver's wouldn't want to use a remote or deal with some other control method that would add costs. Perhaps there are laws against this? Not enough interest?

I know you can get interior lighting with this level of control, just never seen exterior.

CigarPundit

On the road to serfdom...
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I’m not an expert in this, but the led lights for these trucks are generally high output LEDs in a specific color temperature. To get adjustable colors, you need multiple colored LEDs that you can vary the intensity of to achieve a given color when they are all combined together. I don’t think you could get the high performance output we are looking for with that setup. However, some lights come with secondary lower output LEDs in a different color (e.g., Amber back lights). As for dimmability, some LEDs can be dimmed and others can’t , which I think is a function of the driver’s they are using. I’m not sure there is much demand for that in off road lighting...I’ve never seen that offered. When you are off reading, you want as much light as you can get. If you are using them on road, you need to go with SAE lights that are certified for on road use, and I don’t think you could get the certification using a dimming feature.

George S

Reaction score