Jack Stands - safe way to jack the beast up

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Troutrad

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I’m pretty new to all these fun mods and have jumped all in. Already did the ATAK mid pipes but woulda been much easier had I elevated the beast but wasn’t comfortable doing it safely. Enough snickers...yeah, I’m a newbie at all this.

So what is the best way to put rear 1/2, front 1/2 and full truck up on stands? My next project is going to be painting brake calipers with G2. I ordered 2 sets with the idea that I could do front, then do back at different times and I wouldn’t have to buy so many jack stands. Don’t know if this was dumb or not but the good stands get pretty spendy. Want to buy 2 decent ones but not spend a mint. Have a decent floor jack (though need to check and make sure it goes up sufficiently high).

Where is best to place floor jack for rear (diff?)? Jack Stands once tires are up in rear?
Where is best to place floor jack for front? Jack Stands for front?

Thanks and sorry for my inexperience. Any recommendations on equipment would also be appreciated as to how much weight per stand I need, etc.

zombiekiller

OG BooBooRunner
Reaction score
I use semi-truck 12 ton tall jackstands. I waited until jeg's had them on sale for $180. They are the only way, short of a lift, to get my truck ( 40s and midtravel) off the ground completely.

hedonist222

Full Access Member
Reaction score
what height hydraulic floor lift to get the tires off the ground?

20" enough?

And how would you go about it?

Parking break engaged.
Chock in front of front tires

lift rear - set jack stands
then lift front?

I'll need to clean between those damn squeaking leaf springs and spray some teflon spray on them soon

ezndo

Full Access Member
Reaction score