Is my truck ruined? (road salt)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

CraigATX

Reaction score
Hello,

I am a Texas resident and have not been in a position to hand wash my vehicle since the snow-pocalypse happened in Feb. I had to drive through the snow storm for about four hours to help my family. I thought the road crews here only used sand on the roads for ice and snow, as someone told me Texas does not use salt. Unfortunately, I think they were wrong. Now that I am freaking out after having this realization just now, I am rescheduling my day tomorrow so that I can crawl under the truck and wash everything thoroughly.

My question is: how screwed am I by potentially leaving salt road grime on my undercarriage for 2 months? Is my truck going to be ruined and destined for rusting out? I have no idea how any of this works, as we do not typically have this type of weather in Texas. I am contemplating detailing the truck and selling it back to the dealership before the rust becomes a real problem, if that's even a possibility.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Tango_9

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I live in Ohio, salt, salt salt all winter long, I had a gen 1, 2012 for 7 years. Through the winter I would go to the local do it your self car wash and basically climb under it washing the underneath, the rockers were rusting anyway ( the tape was falling off, why did Ford use tape?). I got a gen 2, aluminum body, this will not happen with this truck, I still take care,if it, rust prevention on the shocks, frame and such, I do not think you ruined the longevity of your truck at all, my opinion.

nikhsub1

FRF Addict
Reaction score