Help with shackles

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Alford78

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Im a total noob here and would be very grateful if you all could explain to me how shackles work with our trucks and why one would want to add the to their Deaver +3s?

I understand some shackles will lower the truck but other than that I’m at a loss as to why I would need to add any with my build so some simple explanations would be great!

I would love more lift for tires so wouldn’t ever want to use them to lower my truck but if other advantages are added with some sort of setup then would just like to understand my options.

Bests
Alex

Loufish

FRF Addict
Reaction score
The stock shackles can be the weak link in the rear suspension if you're going off road...I replaced mine with longer shackles to keep the stock height knowing if I want to raise the rear a little (about 1 inch) all I needed were a set of stock height shackles (again aftermarket)

OP
OP
A

Alford78

Full Access Member
Reaction score
So only for strengthening and better travel basically. Also better parts in general to keep articulation smooth. No way to really raise the rear with them? I’m wanting to raise the front and rear just an inch or 2 after do suspension upgrade of Fox 3.0s or MT kit. I will be using fenders hopefully (was planning on Robby Woods stuff but too late I’m thinking) but want just a tad higher ride over the suspension.

Would a 1-2” block along with Deaver +3s and track bars work? Or would that be to stressful? Truck is 90% on road and when off road no crazy high speeds.

zombiekiller

OG BooBooRunner
Reaction score
with traction bars you will only be able to use stock length shackles. Longer shackles rotate the rear axle forward at full droop. The traction bars will limit that movement and you'll get binding if you try to use longer shackles.